The past few days have been a bit illuminating.

Skill:
6 Rounds:
8 reps of hips to bar – bar muscle up work

These felt pretty good, but I’m still too dependent on my arms.

WOD:

Deadlift 1RM
5 reps of deadlift at 50 %
5 reps of deadlift at 65 %
3 reps of deadlift at 80 %
2 reps of deadlift at 90 %
3 attempts at 1RM

Max lift on the day was 345# (90% of 1RM). Took two shots at 370, just shy of 1RM of 385 and failed.The lesson here: don’t spend a weekend eating pizza, birthday cake and drinking beer, then expect to PR a deadlift on Monday. Lesson learned.

METCON
toes-to-bar, double under – Level 1
3 rounds of:
10 reps of toes-to-bar
50 reps of double under

Toes to bars did not suck today! Double unders kinda did. I was able to complete all 30 reps of the toes to bar and they felt pretty smooth. Very satisfying.

Double unders were erratic and sporadic. I clunked my way through the first set. I don’t know how many subsets it took. I just know I did 50 total reps. Second round I had a run of 15 and interrupted a run of 20! Yes, I interrupted a double under run. I had to. I was losing my gym shorts!

I could be frustrated about interrupting that run, but a former fat kid never grows tired of the realization of, “Hey! These clothes are too damn big!” Even if that realization happens mid-WOD.

The last round of DU’s I was tired and I misfired on the first rep 5 times. I moved to singles and ran off 150 uninterrupted singles.

Time to complete 9:15. Well beyond the 8 minute cap. Really wasn’t a question of fitness, more of coordination. Ah well.

Tuesday’s WOD
Skill:
Ring Dips
3 sets of 8 reps

I did bar dips here. I’m in a very in between place with dips. I should have either a) done 3 sets of just max reps ring dips understanding that it would have been five-ish per set; b) increased the reps on the bar dips to 10 or so; or c) done weighted bar dips. At 6:15 in the morning, none of those options occurred to me. I did the 3 sets of 8 and moved onto press. Lesson learned. Next time.

WOD:

press 4-4-4 75%
5 reps of shoulder press at 45 %
5 reps of shoulder press at 55 %
3 reps of shoulder press at 65 %
3 sets of 4 reps of shoulder press at 75 % –

I worked up to 125# as prescribed. The press felt strong today.

METCON
40 reps of jumping alternating lunge
35 reps of kettlebell swing at 52/35 lb
30 reps of wall ball at 20/14 lb
25 reps of 24/20 in box jump
20 reps of burpee
15 reps of power snatch at 125/85 lb
10 reps of goblet squat at 52/35 lb
5 reps of muscle-up

Holy moly what a METCON. Coach Ashley threw the book at us with this WOD. I scaled the snatches down to 115# and substituted 3 reps each of bar dips and pull ups for each rep of muscle ups.

What a smoker! 17:16 to complete. Definitely a full body workout. Ha!

It was tricky in that early on I really had to concentrate to pace myself. Had to resist the temptation to try and go unbroken on lunges and kettle bell swings. Fortunately, by the time I got to Wall Balls, that urge had passed.

I really enjoyed this WOD. This is one of those workouts that you get to the end look back at the white board say, “Holy crap! Look at all that I went through.” Definitely a serious sense of accomplishment. It was demanding and a grind. Good good stuff.

The past two weeks a bunch of friends from a host of local boxes have completed various Crossfit competitions. I’m so proud of all of them. Seeing all their pictures and hearing their stories has me motivated. I’m already registered for the Crossfit Open and looking forward to that. Now I’m looking for a local competition to take part in sometime in the coming year. I’m open to suggestions if anyone has recommendations.

