A few thoughts on things that have become apparent to me in the past couple of days while working out.

20 minutes is a LOOOOOOOng time in Crossfit land, particularly if you’re doing the benchmark WOD “Cindy.” Do as many rounds as possible of 5 pull ups, 10 push ups, and 15 air squats.

This was the inaugural WOD at Bull City Crossfit on Saturday. I was 4 rounds in and checked the clock to see the time remaining. I was expecting to be 8 or so minutes deep. 5 minutes had gone by! I thought, “Shit! I’ll never last another 15 minutes!” When it was all said and done I finished 11 rounds + 1 rep.

Another thing I learned – I’ve never done Cindy before. This surprised me. But I can’t find any previous record in any of my 3 WOD journals, spreadsheets or on this blog. I can only conclude this was our first date. I found it very satisfying.

Also learned it was pretty cool talking up Crossfit in general and Coaches Jack and Dave to prospective new members. That was a driving reason for going to Bull City Crossfit’s opening. I wanted to play the role of ambassador, if I could. Those guys have both done so much for me over the last 2+ years. The least I can do is take a minute and bend someone’s ear and try to help them with their decision making process.

Things I learned today:

  • 1RM Snatches 48 hours after a date with Cindy su-u–u-u-u-ck! So much of ouchie!
  • 5lbs does not alway just equal 5lbs. I could snatch 140# well and repeatedly this morning. 145 was tough, but I did it. Once. 150lbs? Might as well have tried to snatch the Mustang! It was SO much heavier. For reference, my previous 1RM was 165. Like I said. So much of ouchie.

Things I’ll Learn Soon

Whether agreeing to a head to head Fran competition with one of CFD’s coaches was one of the gutsiest or most reckless decisions I’ve made in the gym in quite some time. Either way I’m looking forward to the challenge. Stay tuned for the results on that one in a few weeks!

