Has it really been 4 days since I wrote last? Sorry ’bout that. Life is good. Hectic, but good. Hasn’t really been much time for casual writing. Here’s the basics on what went down this week.

Tuesday
deadlift 4-4-4 75%

Done as prescribed at 290#. Felt pretty good. I got the number 4 stuck in my head and convinced myself we were doing 4 sets of 4 reps. I was pretty thrilled when I rechecked the white board on my way to the water fountain after the third round and realized I was done!

METCON
run, slams, double under
15 minute AMRAP of:
200 m run
10 reps of slams at 30/20 lb
20 reps of double under

Whew! This one was a grind! I completed 5 full rounds, not quite RX. Double unders have evaportated on me. After two rounds I went to single unders 3:1, just to stay in motion. I finished the 5 round with less than 20 seconds remaining on the time cap. Rather than start another round I decided to stay and continue to attempt double unders until time expired. It wasn’t pretty.

I seem to have lost all synchronization between my brain and hands. I can run off 150 single unders with my hands pinned to my sides. Soon as I think about picking up the pace for DU’s I start flapping my arms at the elbows and things get weird. More practice.

I now view double unders like my kids’ sleeping habits. When our kids were infants and we were sleep deprived from feeding them every 3 hours and then trying to get them back to sleep everyone told us, ‘just hold out until 12 weeks. When they hit 12 weeks, then they don’t need to eat every 3 hours and they start sleeping through the night and everything is fine.”

Sure enough at 12 weeks it came to be that we could all sleep through the night and life became normal again. What no one mentioned is that later on they again can’t sleep through the night because of teething, growth spurts, whatever and the sleep deprivation cycle starts all over again!

I vividly remember the first time it happened with our oldest and all I could think was, “NOT. F’ing fair! We made it to 12 weeks! We’re supposed to be past this bullsh*t!”

Right now I have the same attitude about double unders. I had them. I was getting decent. Stringing together runs approaching 20 reps at a clip. Now I’m foundering again. With practice, they’ll come back, I’m sure. I just hope it’s soon.

Thursday
Skill:
EMOM for 8 minutes:
2 Muscle Ups

Per the additional directions, since I don’t have muscle ups I did deadhang pullups. 2 per round. Although I confess, by round 6 I was doing on good deadhang pullup and one lips to bar pullup. Best I could do.

clean 1-1 90%
1 rep of clean at 75 %
1 rep of clean at 75 %
1 rep of clean at 85 %
1 rep of clean at 85 %
1 rep of clean at 90 %
1 rep of clean at 90 %

I got to 85% at 165#. 90% was too much on this day. On one of the reps at 165 I caught it DEEP. For a moment I thought I was pinned and would have to bail. Then I got pissed. I thought, “No way! That HAD to be one of the best technical catches you’ve ever done! By God,” and I shouted this part aloud as I rose, “STAND. UP!” So I did.

METCON
10 minute AMRAP of:
2 reps of double kettlebell clean
4 reps of double kettlebell push press
6 reps of burpee

Rx for this was “heavy as possible” on the kettle bells. I did a couple of practice reps at 52#. My left side wasn’t having any of that. So 44#.

I got 9 rounds and 1 rep. Guest coach Stephen said it best. This one was “spicy.” He warned us about pacing ourselves, but the first couple of rounds went SO fast and then there was the wall! Everything just slowed down SO much. Yeesh! I was pretty satisfied with the 9 rounds.

Friday
back squat 1-1-1-1 90%
5 reps of back squat at 60 %
3 reps of back squat at 70 %
3 reps of back squat at 80 %
1 rep of back squat at 90 %
1 rep of back squat at 90 %
1 rep of back squat at 90 %
1 rep of back squat at 90 %

Things felt GOOD here today. Worked up to the presribed 4 singles at 270#. Really felt like I could have had a banner day, if I’d tried.

Of course that was only after I put my lifting shoes on. Coach Rachel knows I get lazy about swapping from innov-8’s to lifting shoes and back and today was no different. I just didn’t want to be bothered. But in an early set she noticed I was forward on my feet and pointed out, “you know, a good pair of lifting shoes,” (or words to this effect) “would probably fix that.”

I just ducked my head and went off to change. Message received.

METCON
1 k row
rest for 3 min
3 rounds of:
10 reps of kettlebell snatch (right arm) at 52/35 lb
10 reps of kettlebell snatch (left arm) at 52/35 lb
10 reps of 24/20 in box jump

This was a cool METCON. I like to row and kettlebells are definitely to my strength.

I polished off the row in 3:39. That’s about 4 seconds off my PR and I wasn’t working THAT hard. I was pushing, but I wasn’t all balls out knowing the work that was going to come next. Makes me curious to test that.

The 3 rounds went pretty smoothly. Started the work at 6:39 and finished at 11:27. So average 2 minutes a round. I’m good with that.

All in all a good week. Except I could use some double unders and some sleep.

