That was the sound I heard during today’s WOD as my energy drained during the METCON. Should have stayed home today and that’s no exaggeration.

Skill:
Monkeyed with some bar muscle ups just trying to get my hips to the bar while using a blue band for assistance. I was getting little better than chest to bar.

Setting the height aside, one thing that doesn’t make sense to me is how to get my hips to the bar, but still stay some what upright in order to pivot over the bar. When I swing and pull, I’m practically horizontal as I approach the bar. I don’t understand how to keep myself more vertical in order to minimize the distance I have to go to ‘sit up’ over the bar.

Maybe I’m misunderstanding the maneuver. May have to rewatch some training videos.
Strength

snatch grip deadlift 2-2-2 85%
5 reps of snatch grip deadlift at 55 %
3 reps of snatch grip deadlift at 65 %
3 reps of snatch grip deadlift at 75 %
2 reps of snatch grip deadlift at 85 %
2 reps of snatch grip deadlift at 85 %
2 reps of snatch grip deadlift at 85 % – 275#

Not bad here. These actually felt quite good. A little less weight than I intended to use based on the percentages, but not too far off. Form felt very good and Coach Erin confirmed that everything appeared solid.

METCON

METCON

500 m row
Then:
21-15-9 reps of:
kettlebell swing (russian) at 70/52 lb
toes-to-bar
ring dip

Then the wheels came off the wagon.

I had a really good row. Finished in about 1:50

KB swings, unbroken (scaled to 53# mind you).

Toes to bar – things got a bit tough here. I managed them in sets of 8, 7, 3 and 3. I wanted to do that last set as 6 unbroken, but didn’t think too much about breaking it up.

But after that the wheels fell off the wagon in pretty spectacular fashion. My daughter has been ill for the past few days. High fevers for the past three days and she was vomitting on Tuesday. I didn’t realize it when I went to the gym, but I think I have the bug. That’s the only way I can explain the complete energy drain that took place.

I didn’t even complete the round of 21 before I walked away. Yup. For the first time in nearly 4 years, I abandoned a METCON. I’ve had plenty of workouts that I couldn’t complete in the allotted time cap, but I’m pretty sure this is the first time I’ve just walked out mid-METCON.

I scaled the ring dips to bar dips and totally failed! I got 5 reps that weren’t really deep enough. Scurried to the rack for a red band. Strung it up. Got 2 more reps then I was spent. There were no more reps and then the nausea set in. I worked my way outside to kneel in the grass until the feeling passed.

Wasn’t anything left to do at that point but put my gear away, get dressed and get out of the way.

I felt a bit self conscious about leaving early, but a) I didn’t think anyone there really wanted to watch me hurl; b) I figured I’d better get my germy self out of everyone else’s vicinity; and c) it would have seemed weird for me to sit around and cheer folks on when I walked out on the METCON.

I really appreciate that coach Erin came out to check on me while I was catching some air, as well as the check ins from a couple of buddies. I assure everyone I’m not injured. It’s nothing serious. Just a bug and hopefully I’ll be back soon, but for now it seems like tomorrow will be a forced rest day.

