Don’t know what’s different in the world, but for the first time in a long time things were just fun again this morning.

Skill: Ring Dips
3 sets of 8 reps

I did the assigned ring dips, as opposed to scaling to bar dips or something else. Truth be told, I only did two sets. One set of 4 and one set of three. Although I didn’t get all of the assigned reps form felt good today. I’m very satisfied with that as lately I’ve felt like I’m flailing in the rings and very unstable.

The family installed a rig in our backyard over the weekend which allows us to utilize either rings or a heavy bag. I’m very excited to be able to start experimenting with more gymnastic work on my own time. Should be cool. We used to do that stuff: skin the cats, levers, etc at CFD, but it hasn’t been a focus for quite some time and I’ve really missed it. Having the ability to work on those things at home will be a real treat.

Strength: Clean 1RM
1 rep of clean at 60 %
1 rep of clean at 70 %
1 rep of clean at 75 %
1 rep of clean at 85 %
1 rep of clean at 90 %
1 rep of clean at 95 % 185#

185# or 95% of current 1RM (195#) was the heaviest successful lift on the day. Missed it once and then really stuck it the second time around.

Dithered for a while about what to attempt for my 1RM attempts. I’ve been chasing 200# FOR. EVER. Decided to go right at it.

First attempt I pulled the bar so high that it struck me in the throat. Completely startled me. I don’t know all the physics of the actual weight near the apex of a lift, etc. So I can’t tell you what the bar “weighed” when it hit me.

I can tell you that I panicked when it did. Iron pressing against your throat gets your attention really quick. End result, I bailed.

The second time around I tried to temper my pull and ended up not pulling high enough so I missed again.

So it seems there’s a sweet spot somewhere just under a true 100% pull which is what I need to get that elusive 200# clean. Still trying to dial it in though.

Once again I missed my goal. This is another lift where my 1RM has had a birthday, but that’s ok. I haven’t practiced cleans as a skill  since the first of the year while pursuing my pistol and bar muscle up goals. Frankly, today’s effort went better than I was anticipating. So it’s all good.

METCON
6 minute AMRAP of:
10 reps of wall ball at 20/14 lb
25 m shuttle run [pullup rig down and back 1x]
10 reps of kettlebell swing at 52 lb

This one was a lot of fun! Somehow scurrying around gym floor up and down the pull up rig and shuffling between exercises really suited my mood. First time in a long time that a METCON felt fun. This one had that playground WOD vibe that I covet. So I was all in.

Got through 5 full rounds + 10 wall ball shots in the 6 minutes alloted.

Good good fun.

 

