idn”t accomplish everything I wanted to today, but that’s ok. That’s how we learn and grow.

Skill:
5 Rounds:
2 Snatch Deadlift (Not just Sn. Grip DL but, passing through positions of Sn. Pull)
1 Snatch Pull
Rest 90 sec between rounds
Use 60% 1RM from Monday – Worked at 155# – closer to 50% of Rx.

These felt good! Had a bit of an ‘ah-ha’ moment while doing this drill. We’ve done it plenty of times before. And each time we did it, I could grasp how it should help, but it never felt right. Today the impact was tangible. Things clicked and when it was time to do that snatch pull in the fourth and fifth rounds, I really felt like my hips were doing most of the work, not my shoulders and arms. Nice feeling.

Strength: Back Squat 2-2-2 @85%
5 reps of back squat at 55 %
3 reps of back squat at 65 %
3 reps of back squat at 75 %
3 sets x 2 reps of back squat at 85 % 260#

Back Squats felt very good. One of those days where 85% was not that daunting. Some days 85% feels like it’s all I’ve got and I can barely churn through the reps. Today I moved smoothly through all sets. It was the kind of morning that gives you confidence for the next 1RM attempt.

METCON:
Helen
3 rounds of:
400 m run
21 reps of kettlebell swing at 53/35 lb
12 reps of pull-up

This was a first date with this benchmark WOD. She was not gentle either.

The additional direction on this METCON was that there would be a 12 minute time cap. I knew it was going to be close, but wanted the full experience. So those became the spontaneous goals. First, complete it as prescribed. Second, finish under 12 minutes.

Pull ups were my weakness in this WOD. It just takes me a while to grind them out.

I missed the 12 minute time cap/goal. So one goal missed. I was through the last round of KB swings just under the 12 min mark. Coach Erin was gracious enough to leave the clock running, so I elected to see things through. Finished the WOD in 13:10 Rx.

I’m good with the effort. More importantly I managed my attitude well, which I consider a significant accomplishment. I didn’t get all pissy inside my own head and shut down on the WOD once I realized I wouldn’t hit my goal. That’s a victory in its own right.

So all in all, good day.

