I set a new personal record on my clean today. I cracked the 200 pound barrier. 200 pounds plus the ‘washers.’ I’m calling it 201.5 assuming the washers are a half pound each. I don’t know for fact that’s what they weigh. All I know is that it was important that I clean more than 200 pounds..but somehow 205 seemed like setting myself up for failure.

I’ve hit 195 pounds before. I’ve hit 195 for singles repeatedly for well over a year, maybe closer to two years.  I have also repeatedly failed to clean 200 or more pounds for close to two years.

There are lots of folks, men and women, who can clean that much weight and far more.  John, the guy lifting alongside of me PR’d at 245 two minutes before me. My buddy Matt also topped the 200 pound barrier cleaning 205 immediately after me! We swapped high fives and laughs about having that monkey off our back. Seems he’s been chasing the 200 mark as long as I have.

It’s a 5 plus pound improvement, only 2.5% better than the day before.  I’ve certainly had bigger gains. Hell, I improved my overhead squat by 30 pounds this week.  So why have I been high fiving the dog all day saying, “201, Oakley. TWO. OH. ONE.” Why does this one PR feel like such a big deal?

