Yeah. A second date with the benchmark WOD “Grace” and some 1RM floor press fun. That comment is gonna come back to bite me.

Skill:
EMOM for 8 minutes:
Clean DL
Clean Pull
Clean
Use 60% of 1RM

Done at 115# – It was obviously Monday in that the first two rounds were very tight, but after that that body loosened up and these seemed to fall into place.

Strength: floor press 1RM
3 attempts at 1RM

This is another one of those ghost lifts that I either never write my 1RM into my journal, or I simply haven’t tested it, even after three years. You can bet I’m going to write this one down! Regardless, I figured a 1RM of 220# ought to be attainable, given my all time best bench press is 250#.

Craig and I shared a rack and worked quickly through the warm up lifts and each made a first attempt right at 225. Pretty smooth, so we agreed to jump to 235#.

We both lifted that. Craig decided he was done and asked, “what do you want to do?”

I answered, “I kinda want to try 240#.”

Craig shrugged, laughed and answered, “Of course you do.”

As I walked away to the water fountain I answered, “Why not? It’s Monday, I’ve got all week to recover.”

When I got around to actually doing the lift, I got it. It wasn’t pretty. It was what Craig dubbed a ‘kipping floor press.’ One of those presses where you arch your back lifting your ass off the floor to drive your shoulders in deeper and generate the leverage you need to finish it out. Not pretty, but I got it. Very satisfied with that as I ended up lifting 20 pounds above and beyond what I anticipated. Have to be pleased with that.

METCON
Grace
30 reps of clean and jerk at 135/95 lb

My first date with Grace was in October of 2012. I finished in 4:54. I didn’t really have a goal today other than ‘be faster than that.’

I intended to do sets of 11, 10 and 9 reps each. Eh, not so much. I got the 11 and realized that I may have been over ambitious. I did a short set of 4, just to get on a 5 and then did sets of 5 to completion.

I was very careful to position myself where I would not see the clock. I didn’t want it to influence me. There are days where I say “I’m going to finish in 5 minutes” and then rather than go as fast as possible, even when the fuel is in the tank, I start budgeting the time and effort to work to that mark. Today I just wanted all the reps done and then I’d check the clock.

When the last rep was complete, I found the clock and it read 4:30. Also very pleased with that.

The goal now is to break 4 minutes on this WOD. Another friend, the ‘other’ Greg W has brought up the idea of a wager to see who can get to 4 minutes first. Greg, I’ve been mulling that over and I’ve decided that I’ve got to respectfully decline.

The last time I bet against a guy named of Greg in a WOD off, it cost me bottle of bourbon. Losting the booze is one thing. More importantly it added 2+ minutes to my Fran time! If you’ve read this blog at all, you know I don’t consider myself superstitious, but I do believe in mojo and the die has been cast. WOD offs against guys named Greg are not good for my WOD times.

Now, if you’ll excuse me I have another date, a threesome actually. Me, my foam roller and a lacrosse ball are gonna get intimate to ensure I don’t end up paying for my aggression for the rest of this week.

