What can I say? It was a funky sort of morning.

Skill:
5 rounds:
20 second Handstand Hold

I really enjoyed this portion of the WOD. So much so that I started singing along to Taylor Swift’s “We are never ever getting back together.” The questions isn’t really why was I singing. I have a 5 yo daughter. ‘Nuff said. The better question is how did it end up playing on the gym stereo in the first place? Not that I minded.

Strength

back squat 4-4-max 75%
5 reps of back squat at 45 %
5 reps of back squat at 55 %
3 reps of back squat at 65 %
4 reps of back squat at 75 %
4 reps of back squat at 75 %
max reps of back squat at 75 %

The list above is what was assigned. Thinking ahead to the competition on Saturday, I scaled this back. I worked up to 195#/65% and only did 2 sets of 4 at that weight. I didn’t want to attempt 75% or max reps. Would have left my legs tired for days.

METCON
10 minute AMRAP of:
100 m run
5 reps of handstand push-up [or 2 Wall Walks]
10 reps of pistol [5 each leg]

rest for 1 min

5 minute AMRAP of:
20 reps of hovers
20 reps of v sit-up
20 reps of bicycles

Despite how much the core work in the second installment of this METCON smoked me, I really enjoyed this workout.

I completed 5 rounds + 100M run in the first installment, doing wall walks instead of HSPU’s. Pistols were done to a 12″ box with two 15# plates stacked on top. It was probably a 17 or 18″ platform at that point.

The second phase of this was brutual! There were 4 of us doing this workout and there was all sorts of muttering, cussing, questioning of the moral fiber of the coach that designed the WOD. All right, that last part was me, and I think I kept that inside my head.

I completed one full round plus 36 reps and I was shot.

My v-ups were awful all the way through, but they were the best reps that I could complete.

Somewhere over the course of the METCON I let out a noise that caught the attention of most of the box. The 7:15ers waiting for their turn to work out all started to mutter amongst themselves about how that sort of sound really didn’t bode well for them.

Even after the WOD, I was chatting with Coach Stew and he asked me, “did you squeal during that METCON?”

I answered, “no. I may have whimpered, but I didn’t squeal.”

He said, “It sounded like a squeal.”

I said, “Well, maybe. But just once. I was just trying to get inside the 7:15 crew’s heads. That’s my story and I’m sticking with it.”

And I still am.

On Saturday
I’m getting anxious thinking about Saturday’s competition. That anxiety is manifesting itself in the most dangerous of ways….appetite. Not just the amount of food I want to eat, the type.

I’m having junk food cravings this week like I haven’t had in years. As I write this in the middle of the morning, it’s taking a ridiculous amount of will power to not run out and buy a giant bag of Ruffles chips and a 2 liter bottle of Coke. I promise you, I would go through them both in a single sitting right now.

A couple of Wendy’s Homestyle Chicken sandwiches sound like heaven on a bun. I’m dreaming of a sausage and mushroom pizza!

Thank God Erin keeps the household shelves stocked very clean. When I’m home, there’s reasonably little for me to do much dietary damage. The challenge is when I go out. I’m having a real tough time when I go to the gas station for example. I tank up the car and then it’s this huge back and forth to prevent myself from dashing into the convenience store for a bag full of crap!

If I’m completely honest, I caved this morning. I had time between the gym and our family’s appointment for Lil Bit’s year end school conference. I slunk over to Harris Teeter and demolished a pair of doughnuts in the parking lot. Each one was the size of a healthy Kaiser roll.

That’s got to stop. I need to just suck it up and stay clean. Fine I’m nervous. Accept and acknowledge the anxiety and find a constructive outlet like more mobility or something. It’s going to be a real tricky week, but I’ve got to do it.

