So here are my thoughts on the Capital City Games, my first full on Crossfit competition.

The event itself:
-) VERY well run!
-) Heat times were right on their estimated times.
-) Volunteers and staff were fantastic
-) Judges were very clear about the movement standards and each one I had seemed spot on.
-) Fantastic facility with plenty of space.

The only thing I wish they would have provided was some tenting for the athletes. The athlete area was basically the Crossfit RDU parking lot. There were lots of trees around the perimeter and the event was fairly small being the first year. So there was adequate shade this year.

If the event grows, I could see crowding being an issue around the perimeter of that lot.

The Events – note I competed in the Men’s scaled division.

WOD 1
10 minute Time Cap
55# Thrusters – 30 Reps/10 over the bar burpees
75# Thrusters – 25 reps/10 over the bar burpees
95# Thrusters – 20 reps/10 over the bar burpees
115# Thrusters – 15 reps/10 over the bar burpees
135# Thrusters – 10 reps/10 over the bar burpeees

I got deep enough into this WOD to to complete 17 thrusters at 95#.

My goal going in was simply to get into this round. I was thrilled to go 17 thrusters deep. (Crossfit naughty talk)

From what I can see on the official leaderboard, no one in the scaled division finished this METCON.

WOD 2

3 minutes to make 2 attempts to establish a 1RM Snatch (power, squat or split). For scaled athletes, a small press out was permissable as long as there was never any downward travel in the bar path. Athletes load and reload their own bars.

Rest 1 minute

Then

1 min Max Reps Wall Ball, 20# ball to 10ft target
immediately followed by
1 min Max Reps Hand Release Push Ups

I was very nervous about the snatch. My all time PR is 165#. I struggled mightily to hit 145# on Monday of this week.

My strategy was to open with 135. It was a lift I was confident that I would hit. 9 times out of 10 I stick that weight. The relative ease or difficulty of that lift would determine my second attempt.

135# flew up! I immediately added 10 pounds to each side and then walked away to sort of pace my lane, chalk my hands and tell myself repeatedly, “No doubts! No doubts!”

Erin and the kids were there cheering me on and she told me afterward that when she saw the 135# lift fly up, she was going to scream at me if I’d reached for anything less than 10# plates.

I power snatched 155# and it was a very good lift. I checked carefully for the sign from my judge that the lift was good and then dropped the bar. I celebrated that one with a big clap and a fist pump! It’s not a PR, but to hit a lift that high up on my personal scale during a competition felt amazing.

I banged out 28 wall balls and 23 push ups in turn.

Relative to the rest of the competition, this ended up being my strongest WOD of the day.

WOD 3
5 minute cap

15 sit ups,
20 box jumps 24″ box
25 pull ups
30 power cleans, 95#

I knew going in that pull ups were going to be the biggest challenge. I honestly wasn’t sure I would complete them and get to the power cleans. Guess what?

I got 17 power cleans, and I was BANGING them out unbroken when time expired.

I was the last place finisher in my heat. Only one other athlete in my division failed to complete this METCON. While no one who competes ever wants to finish last, I don’t really care. I exceeded my goal by a wide margin and I was the recipient of the love that’s singular to crossfit.

My heat mates were done. I was the only one left in motion and a great number of people, athletes, fans, family and friends all started cheering me on, willing me to finish as strong as possible. They were shouting encouragement, counting reps, willing me forward. That’s a pretty singular feeling. It put quite a charge in me.

All in all, it was a fantastic first competition.

I went out and competed on my own, with no team mate to depend on.

I completed 3 tough WODs at a personally very high level. I got through the day uninjured.

I exceeded every tangible expectation that I set for myself.

It could not have been a better day.

I’m now looking forward to future events, both as an individual and team competitor.

 

