as an ok day today. Not much of a story to tell.

Skill:
Take 15 minutes to practice your Double Unders.

Streaky today. Just streaky. Ah well.

Strength:
hang power snatch 4-4-max
5 reps of hang power snatch at 45 %
5 reps of hang power snatch at 55 %
3 reps of hang power snatch at 65 %
4 reps of hang power snatch at 75 %
4 reps of hang power snatch at 75 %
max reps of hang power snatch at 75 %

Based my percentages off of an assumed 1RM of 150. Don’t have a recorded 1RM for the hang power snatch, but these percentages seemed to be good. The final rounds at 115# were heavy by the end, but manageable and allowed me to keep good form.

METCON
3 rounds of:
400 m run
15 reps of overhead squat at 95/65 lb
10 reps of push-up
time cap for 12 min

Love me some overhead squats! I’ll take them all day, every day when they show up in a WOD. I finished this one in 10:34 Rx. Runs were kind of slow. All around the 2 minute mark, but they were consistent. All overhead squats went unbroken. Very pleased.

Whole 30 Challenge

I’m not sure what’s going on with my internal thermometer today. The gym didn’t feel particularly hot or sticky when we started working, but I was sweating like MAD today! I was wringing wet halfway through the double unders. That surprised me.

Now I’m home wearing full sweats and contemplating raising the thermostat on the air conditioning. That NEVER happens. I don’t know if it’s a side effect of the Whole 30 challenge or signs of something else (menopause, maybe). I don’t know. Likely, it’s totally unrelated to the challenge.

One early positive side effect of the challenge. I’m getting to bed earlier. It’s not so much that I’m more tired. It’s a self-defense/preservation mechanism. I’m heading to bed 30-45 minutes earlier each night to avoid snacking after dinner. Not sure it’s the preferred technique, but it’s a technique.

All in all, feeling pretty good today.

