There are only two things I’m going to mention about Monday’s WOD.

First, the METCON, 10-1 alternating KB swings and burpees. Scaled the 70# Rx to 62# and barely got all the work in under the wire at 6:42. Whew!

Second, during my first back squat 1 rep max attempt of 300#, a weight I’ve lifted before, I felt a pull in a very private place in my anatomy when I started up out of the squat. Never felt THAT before! Needless to say, it scared me and I bailed on the lift immediately. I didn’t make any additional attempts. Don’t believe I injured anything, but damn that will get your attention ASAP!

Tuesday – The 5 rounds of 3 min AMRAP, 3 push press, 6 front squat, 9 power cleans, with one minute rest between each 3 minute set was SAVAGE!

Prescribed weight was 155#. Ha! I started at 125# and shed 10# off the bar after the second three minute round.

I did a lot of extra power cleans. By the round of three, rather than go direct from push press to front squat keeping the bar racked, I had to drop it, center myself then clean it again then front squat. The fifth round was just punishing. Uncle Pukey was tickling the back of my throat all through the fourth and fifth intervals. During the 5 interval, I completed push presses, then three separate times I cleaned and dropped the bar to the floor because each time I racked the bar to begin front squats the gym started to spin. Like I said, lots of extra cleans.

When it was all said and done, I completed 5 full rounds plus 10 reps, plus lots of transitionsal cleans.

Whole 30
Well, I got through night one at the Durham Bulls Ball Park consuming nothing but bottled water. So that was a success. Back at the park Wednesday night. 

I have to confess though, I cheated. You’re not supposed to weigh yourself during the challenge. After the results of the past two days of workouts, I needed a pick me up this morning so I stepped on the scale. All I will say is that I’m very pleased with the results. It was definitely the boost I needed to answer the question, “is this really worth it and worth seeing through?”

 

 

