So I’m leaving for the gym at 5:40 am. I’m mostly awake. The windows are all fogged and glossed over from yesterday’s showers, the defroster hasn’t taken full effect yet, but I had to get underway, because I’m anal about being punctual. I still live my life by the Army credo that if you’re ten minutes early to anything, you’re already five minutes late. So I left.

I back out of the drive, veer off the edge and proceed to rip the passenger side rearview mirror off my Mustang.

It’s fair to say that I was in a funk for the remainder of the morning. Still, I tried not to take it out on anyone in the box. Afterall, that’s what heavy deadlifts are for, right?

Pre-WOD:
EMOM for 6 minutes:
3-5 Ring Dips

I did 5 rounds of 3 ring dips being very mindful to get my shoulders well below my elbows each rep. The final round was 2 reps. There was some kipping involved in the later sets, but I’m good with that as long as the range of motion was there.

In fact, this is a significant improvement over some other recent sessions, so I’m satisfied.

WOD:

sumo deadlift 1-1-1-1 90%
5 reps of sumo deadlift at 60 %
3 reps of sumo deadlift at 70 %
3 reps of sumo deadlift at 80 %
4 x 1 rep of sumo deadlift at 90 % – 330

Didn’t quite get to 90%. 80% was pretty tough, but I pushed the weight to 315#, so about 85% of assigned. I recorded the lifts and am glad I did.

I can see from 80% up, I’m lifting my butt up and getting forward on the bar. Need to stay back on it. Cool. Lesson learned.

Beach Barbell Complex
5 rounds of:
[Each round must go unbroken, add weight each round]
3 reps of static high pull
6 reps of barbell curl
6 reps of push press
9 reps of hang power clean
9 reps of front squat

So this one proved to be a tricky little vixen of a METCON. I’ve never done static high pulls or barbell curls, so I had no idea what weight to use.

I started at 65# and went unbroken for round 1. I believe I did rounds 2 and 3 at 70#. Round 2 was unbroken. Round 3 was not. I went back to 65# for Rounds 4 and 5.

This was a total fore arm burner. Didn’t see that coming. Fun to do some motions that we haven’t seen before. Nice bit of variety.

Whole 30
So we’re taking on a new challenge tonight. We’re heading out to eat for the first time since taking on the challenge. Fortunately, there’s a new paleo restaurant in Durham so we should be able to eat good and clean with confidence.

I’m looking forward to it. I’ve missed eating out. I honestly didn’t realize how much we do eat out, but we do. Definitely going to have to modify my ordering habits once the challenge is over. Good lesson to learn.

Carolina Clash
So the organization running the September competition published a bit of a tease online today announcing that one of the day’s events will involve axle bars. For those who aren’t familiar, an axle bar is a barbell. It’s just that it’s thicker than standard barbells. So it can be tougher to grip.

No mention of how it will be incorporated yet. It’s got my partner and I speculating. He’s guessing cleans or overheads. I’m anticipating deadlift holds. Something along the lines of one partner maintains a deadlift hold using the axle bar while the other partner does burpees. You have to switch positions if the partner holding the deadlift drops it. Guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

I do know that means I may want to add some grip training over the next few weeks. I’m also going to want to just experiment with the axle bar at CFD. I don’t think I’ve very held one in my hands. I’d like to get familiar with how it feels going through various lifts. Pretty exciting to anticipate!

