It’s good to have family and friends holding me accountable to avoid doing anything reckless before Saturday’s competition.

I’m so excited for the competition that I have a lot of nervous energy this week and I keep wanting to pour it out into workouts.

But better to contain it for now and conserve for the weekend.

Yesterday was particularly tough to rest. CFD did Nancy for the METCON. It’s my favorite benchmark WOD and I was really tempted to retest it because last time I did it I was severely dissatisfied with my score.

Tuesday was a scheduled rest day, so I deliberately did not look at the WOD when it posted Monday night. I didn’t want to be tempted.

I skipped the 6:15 am session, but then started seeing friends’ posts online and I realized what I missed.

I started to think, well maybe I’ll go to a late session Tuesday and sit out Wednesday. So I messaged Erin about what was on the family schedule for the afternoon and evening.

Erin pointed out, “You did a long partner WOD with me on Sunday. You did a hero WOD on Monday. Even if you go, do you think you’ll be satisfied with the results?”

Harumph! Just like Erin to go and be all logical and stuff. Not likely, so I sat out. I pouted about it, but I sat out. Next time Nancy. I won’t stand you up next time. I promise.

Wednesday, Sept 17
Skill:
1 min single unders
5 mins of 30 sec on/30 sec off double unders

Kind of meh today, but I was using my short rope, so I wasn’t surprised. If double unders are part of Saturday’s competition, I’ll use my long rope and I expect I’ll be ok.
Strength

So this is what was prescribed for today’s strength session
back squat 3-3-3 80%
5 reps of back squat at 50 %
3 reps of back squat at 60 %
3 reps of back squat at 70 %
3 sets of 3 reps of back squat at 80 %

I scaled it back to

5 at 40%
3 at 50%
4 sets of 3 reps at 60% (185#)

Form felt good and the legs felt strong. Einar and I shared a rack and I don’t know if his back squat is really that much stronger than mine, or he elected to use a higher percentage, but his working sets were done about 40# higher than mine.

That’s relevant because during one of his working sets, our friend Craig came by and noted, “That doesn’t look like any de-load week I’ve ever seen. That looks heavy.”

I told him, “I’m not sure what Einar’s doing, but trust me when it’s my turn again we’re taking 40# off that bar. I’m being good and only working 60%.”

METCON
3 rounds of:
4 minute AMRAP of:
9 reps of deadlift at 155/105 lb
6 reps of hang power clean
3 reps of shoulder-to-overhead
rest for 1 min

I worked this METCON at 115#. Again, thinking ahead to the weekend. Before we even got started, Craig wandered by and checked both Einar and my barbells.

I told him, “Look I’m being good. 115#, no heroics this morning.”

He laughed and answered, “I’m just keeping you honest.”

It was much appreciated.

The hang power cleans turned out to be the biggest challenge in this METCON. They were just awkward today. When it was all said and done I completed 8 rounds + 11 reps. I’m good with that.

After the METCON Einar and I were discussing the plan for the rest of the week and I mentioned that I couldn’t decide whether I would come to CFD on Thursday or not.

Once again, Craig jumped in and I heard him call out from afar, “Only if it’s for mobility, Paul!”

I laughed, but he’s right. I do plan to come in and spend the biggest part of the hour just rolling out, stretching, perhaps a bit of double unders with the long rope and a bit of rowing. But nothing too taxing.

It’s definitely good to have folks help hold me accountable and keep me honest.

