Not sure why, but I was feeling pretty chippy this morning and just decided to roll with it. Turned out to be a good day.

Skill:
EMOM for 6 minutes:
5 2-hand Russian Swings
4 Double KB Clean
3 KB Thruster
The direction regarding weight for this was simply: “Use a load you can handle.”

I grabbed 40# kettlebells at first and let someone talk me out of it. I put them back and set up with a pair of 30’s. After the first round I knew I’d scaled too far.

I went back to the rack and grabbed the 40’s again. I split the difference and did three rounds with each weight.

The final set of thrusters was HEAVY!

Strength: Back Squat 2-2-2 @85% (Based on 300#)

5 reps of back squat at 55 % 165
3 reps of back squat at 65 % 195
3 reps of back squat at 75 % 225
3 sets of 2 reps of back squat at 85 % 255

All reps were worked at the assigned percentages. I felt like I was flirting with the “below parallel” line all morning, but Coach Ami watched several reps at the heaviest weights and confirmed that they were good. I’ll take it.

If the reps were deep enough, then I’m pretty satisfied with the day’s work. I wasn’t convinced that I’d be able to work 85%. It was fun to hammer through these reps.

METCON
12 minute AMRAP of:
8 reps of toes-to-bar
12 reps of walking lunge
250 m row [or 200m run]

I chose to run over rowing. I don’t know why. Partly, I think I was being a contrary. Anyone who expressed a preference this morning definitively stated they wanted to row. I kind of went, “OK. I’ll go outside and play.” When it was go time, I believe there was an even split of rowers and runners.

I really liked this WOD! That’s worth mentioning because it was one of Coach Doug’s WODs. His programming is notoriously punishing and frequently the most bitched about WODs at CFD.

At the start, I had no goal in terms of rounds to complete. My goal was simply, “go unbroken.” I did accomplish this. That’s a real accomplishment when T2B are involved.

In fact, I felt like I had a bit of a breakthrough on my T2B. I was able to reduce the swing in my kip today and I felt like I had better positioning at the moment my toes actually contacted the bar. Still plenty of work to do, but definitely smoother.

I tried to be tactical in the set up for this WOD. I chose the pull up rig closest to the front wall of the gym. This meant after T2B, it was two quick strides to put my back to the side wall. 12 Walking Lunges took me right to the front door of the gym, then it was up and out the door to run.

As the METCON wore on, I set the on the fly goal to complete 6 full rounds. I came up about 10-15 meters short! I knew going out the door the last time that I was going to have to have a great run to finish under the 12 minute cap. I gave it everything I had. It wasn’t meant to be.

The start/finish line for runs is a metal post at the front of CFD. As I hit the far end of the building opposite the door/post, I peeked in the windows and saw the clock flip from 11:59 to 12:00! Argh! So close!

Still, a very good day all around.

