Sundays are becoming my favorite strength training day. I’m usually rested since I don’t WOD on Saturday and you get to pick your lift from any of the 5 lifts worked in the week prior. So you can go with what feels good.

Yesterday, I chose to work the clean. It’s one I’ve been itching to test. Technically, the assigned work for the clean from Friday was to work up to 4 singles at 95%. I took some liberties with that. I elected to push through for a 1RM.

I warmed up a few reps at 95, then 115. Then I just started working singles, 135, 155, 175, 185, 195.

The rep at 135 had me second-guessing my idea of testing a 1RM. It was just weird. When I jumped to 155 things straightened out and the lifts got better along the way.

I was shooting the breeze with my friend Craig between lifts and he commented that things looked good and asked about my 1RM. I told him, “Technically, one time, I’ve done 200# plus the washers, so call it 202 ish.” That was back in April and it was one of those ugly, “I just barely got away with that,” sort of lifts. You know the type of lift I’m talking about. It’s the kind where afterwards you say to yourself, “OK. I didn’t fail, so I’m gonna count it, but damn that was nasty.” It’s been niggling at the back of my brain since I pulled that one off, “could I do that again?”

The lift at 185 felt really good. It was about that time I told Craig that I was definitely going to make the run at 205. Part of me wanted to skip the 195 lift, but the 20# jump seemed overly aggressive. So I did 195 and again, it was a pretty well executed lift. That gave me confidence to go for 205#.

It felt so good to drop under that bar, catch it and know that I had it. There was no doubt in my mind. It was definitely worth the walk to the PR bell! There may be a bit more in the tank for that lift, but for now, I’m just enjoying the fact that I truly feel like I cracked the 200# ceiling. Back in April when I got that 202, I got lucky and I knew it. I didn’t believe I could repeat that lift.

Yesterday, I walked away from that 205 feeling like I could do that again. Now I feel like I can say with integrity that my clean is more than 200#.

METCON
Sunday, Oct 26,
[in Teams of 2]
40-30-20-10 reps of:
power snatch at 95/65 lb
24/20 in box jump overs

40-30-20-10 reps of:
overhead squat at 95/65 lb
toes-to-bar

40-30-20-10 reps of:
wall ball at 20/14 lb
burpee

The original post said there would be a 30 minute time cap on this WOD. Coach Lori cut us all off at 28 minutes. That was plenty long enough. This one was a meat grinder. To the best of my knowledge only one team in two sessions completed this WOD and that team had a Crossfit Regionals qualified athlete on it.

Erin and I partnered together and I think we did quite well. I scaled the weight on the bar to 75#. When we got to the second couplet we did Toes to Bar for the round of 40. As we were working through the round of thirty overhead squats, I announced that I was doing all remaining reps of T2B scaled on the floor. My grip felt like it was shot and something in my left side felt strained. I didn’t want to push things too far, so we reigned it in.

When time elapsed, we completed the first two couplets, plus 40 wall balls and 28 burpees between us. Not too bad.

Monday, Oct 27
Skill:
EMOM for 8 minutes (each arm):
3 1-hand Russian Swings
2 KB High Pulls
1 KB Snatch
Use a load you can handle

Coming off of yesterday’s METCON I was quite sore starting the day. I used a 35# kettlebell for this work. It went ok.

Strength: Push Press
Work up to 3 attempts at a 1RM. Craig and I shared a bar today. My best lift on the day was 195#. That’s just less than 90% of my all time best. For today, it will do.

Craig PR’d with an impressive 205#! Way to go my friend!

7 minute AMRAP of:
5 reps of kettlebell snatch (right arm) at 52/35 lb
5 reps of kettlebell snatch (left arm) at 52/35 lb
30 reps of double under

This wasn’t pretty. I scaled the KB to 44#. I made sure to work my left arm (weak-side) first each round. Double unders were floppy and sloppy today. I was just flailing my arms all over the place. I muddled through the first round doing double unders. For subsequent rounds, I embraced Coach Rachel’s pre-WOD guidance and did 3:1 Singles for the remaining rounds. The METCON was just too short to waste time making DU attempts.

In the end I finished 4 rounds and 7 KB swings. I would have liked this one to be smoother, but no big deal. Rest on Tuesday, come back at it on Wednesday.

