The greatest thing about Crossfit is, without question, the community. Within that community, find those people who make you want to be better.

My buddy Craig pulled me through today by leading by example.

Skill:
Complete 3 Rounds (not timed)
1 Hang Power Snatch
2 Hang Snatch
1 Power Snatch
2 Snatch
Use 40-50% 1RM

I used 75#’s here. While form felt good, the bar just felt SO heavy in my hands today.

Strength: Power Snatch
work up to 3 singles at 90% By the numbers that should have been 140#. I never got there. Same as the skill work, stuff just felt heavy today. I missed a lift at 125 and realized pushing further would be futile and frustrating.

I stripped back to 115 and did two more reps to end with a hit and called it a day.

METCON
15 reps of burpee
25 reps of double kettlebell swing at 52/35 lb
15 reps of burpee
25 reps of double kettlebell clean
15 reps of burpee
25 reps of double kettlebell front squat
15 reps of burpee
25 reps of double kettlebell clean
15 reps of burpee
25 reps of double kettlebell swing
15 minute cap

For the record, I scaled the kettlebells to 40#. I made a couple of attempts warming up with 52. It wasn’t going to happen. It felt like I would break a wrist trying to manage the double cleans and the front squats with 104# in the front rack position felt close to unholy.

This was a real grinder of a WOD and if it weren’t for my buddy Craig I wouldn’t have finished it.

We were in the final minute and it was obvious I wasn’t going to get all the work done. It was going to be close. I was deep into the last round of burpees, but I wasn’t going to make it to the end of the last KB swings. I was so spent I was perfectly comfortable¬†with the thought of walking away and accepting a “did not finish” when time expired.

Then I heard Craig ask Coach Ami to make sure she kept the clock running.

My first thought was, “Sonnuva-! He’s gonna finish this thing!”

Then I thought, “Damnit! I know I’m out in front of him which means I have less work to do than he does. If he’s going to see it through, then I need to finish it too.”

That’s all it took to find that extra spark. Seeing Craig make the choice to push through inspired me to do the same.

When the clock turned over at 15 minutes, I had 15 Kettlebell Swings left. So official score: DNF – 175 reps, right?

Unofficial time to finish: 15:40. I’m pretty satisfied with that.

Thanks for the push, Craig.

