I’ve come to realize that I need to reset my focus. Time to stop obsessing over the misses and the fails and the things I didn’t accomplish. It’s time to center myself again around what I DID do. Today is a prime example.

Skill:
EMOM for 8 minutes:
2 2nd position hang Clean
2 Split Jerk
1 Split Press
Use 40% Jerk 1RM

I used 75# for this work, which is right in the vicinity of the prescribed weights. I had some 10# plates nearby on standby, figuring if the drills went really well, I’d move up to 95# for the last few rounds.

I never did and that bothered me a bit. Right there, I started down the tracks of negative thoughts.

Strength:
Clean
4 rep at 65 % 130
4 rep at 75 % 150
4 rep at 85 % 170

As a matter of convenience, I did the first round at 135#. It was simply less plates to fumble with. That round felt very good.

The round at 150# felt ok, but a bit heavier than I expected.

Time was getting short for the round of 170. I did two reps where I pretty much muscle cleaned the bar from ground to shoulder. At the time I was really pissed at myself because these were supposed to be squat cleans and I’d allowed my form to go all to shit. And honestly, I felt slow today and was afraid to try and dive under the bar to catch it in a squat.

In that time and space, I was really pretty disappointed in myself. Looking back at it now a couple of hours removed, I can say to myself, “DAMN! I muscle cleaned 170#! TWICE! I’ve never done THAT before.” For me, that’s a pretty decent accomplishment! It suggests that if I can get my head right, get over my fear of getting under the bar, there’s some significant gains to be made on my squat clean. It suggests to me that strength certainly isn’t an issue.

That’s the thing I’m talking about though. I’ve got to focus on the positive. It’s a funny thing. I do it pretty naturally when I’m coaching kids’ sports. Even when plays go wrong, the first thing I’ll say to a kid is, “Great job. I love the way you hustled on that play.” Then from there we talk about what they could have done better. Not sure why I can’t apply that habit to my self-critique.

This is not new, either. I know I’ve talked about it before. It’s just that some lessons have to be remembered and relearned.

Metcon:
Hero WOD “Sham”
7 Rounds
11 Bodyweight Deadlifts
100m Sprint

A similar thing happened during the METCON. Bodyweight deadlifts equals 220#.

This is the first time I’ve completed this WOD, so I had no frame of reference. As a result, my goals and expectations were probably off. I didn’t know what to expect, but knowing that Wednesday METCON’s at CFD are usually targeted for the 12-15 minute range, I was looking for a score under 12. That was definitely ambitious, but it seemed possible. I also identified a ‘rabbit.’ Some one who was on a pace very close to my own who I intended to at least stay with, and ideally beat. I also figured with deadlifts and short runs, I should be in the top half of today’s class. I accomplished none of my goals.

I finished in 12:32.

I was in the last quarter of folks done.

My rabbit outran me by the entire 100M sprint.

All of that surprised and disappointed me. So I left the gym not in the best frame of mind.

On the way home though, my train of thought switched tracks. I started wondering, “220# x 77 reps. That’s a fair bit of work.” I grabbed my calculator when I got home. It’s 16,940 to be precise.

That means I moved over 8 TONS in less than 13 minutes! That’s not an insignificant amount of work! Better yet, I did it safely, with proper form and without injury. I know I’m gonna be sore tomorrow. But I will only be sore, not hurt. That counts for a lot.

Plus, I’ve set a new PR for another Crossfit Hero WOD and that’s always kind of cool. So in the end, it was a damn fine day.

Now I just need to keep that mindset and focus on what works each morning and not get hung up on what doesn’t!

