Some days Crossfit just leaves you standing there shaking your head wondering what the hell just happened.

Skill Work: Shoulder to Overhead Drills
4 Rounds
1 Round is:
1 reps of each from the back (Push Press, Push Jerk, Split Jerk)
1 reps of each from the front (Push Press, Push Jerk, Split Jerk)

The direction regarding weight was “Add load each round and get as heavy as possible without breaking reps.”

Frankly, knowing that Fran was the METCON, I wasn’t inclined to push the weights on this skill work. My partners, Pete and Max, and I did rounds at 75, 95, 105 and 115#.

It was pretty good work. Push jerks were by far my best lift every round. I think I just trust myself most landing when my feet are only moving in one direction.

Split jerks were the least comfortable, or the lift I had the least confidence in each round. Still, they weren’t bad.

METCON:
“Fran”
21-15-9 reps, for time of:
Thruster, 95/65 lbs
Pull-up

I finished in 9:28, Rx. That’s a middle of the road score for me for that WOD.

I’m pretty comfortable with that. Sure, I would have liked to do better. Of course, I would have liked to have been closer to my PR score, or my goal of breaking 8 minutes for this WOD this year.

Still, trying to keep it in perspective, it’s just another workout. I could put together a list of all the reasons I didn’t do as well as I would have liked, but that’s going to sound like I’m making excuses. If I put my mind to it, I could spend an equal amount of time making a list of all the reasons I should have PR’d it today. But that’s just time wasted.

Mostly, I find myself wondering what the hell was different about my life, training, etc when I scored that PR of 8:47?  Was the programming back then different than it is now? Am I overworking myself and not taking age into account? Am I not providing myself enough rest? I honestly don’t believe that, but some days I wonder. Nah. Whatever the circumstances were, whatever stars were aligned and whatever voodoo went down that day; I’d sure like to work that out and bottle that mojo. But I’m guessing we all would, no?

