Today was just one of those days where I couldn’t find a rhythm, but I tried not to let it get in the way of getting the work done.

Skills:
Complete 4 Rounds
1 Hang Power Snatch
2 Hang Snatch
1 Power Snatch
2 Snatch
Start with 50% 1RM and work up as heavy as possible

I worked these sets at 75#, 85#, 95# and 105#. I could have handled a bit more weight, but I really wanted to concentrate on form, so these were good weights for the day.

Caught myself landing forward on the balls of my feet on the full snatches at the higher weights. Seemed to be a simple matter of focus. All in all a pretty good session.

METCON
3 rounds for time:
30 Toes-to-bar
15 Clean and Jerks (155/105)
20 Minute Cap

I scaled the clean and jerks to 135#. I might have muscled through 45 reps at 155, but form would have been atrocious. Better to focus on form. In general, they felt pretty good. I really tried to focus on driving my elbows up high at the end of each clean. I had limited success with that. Think it’s time to focus on some shoulder mobilty on my own time. I just wasn’t driving them as high as I know I’m able.

Toes to bars were just WILD today. I never really expected to get through all 90 reps of toes to bar. My goal was to get through the first two rounds and then for the final round I would do toe raises to a vertical support on the pull up rig. That turned out to be overly ambitious.

For whatever reason, I had no rhythm for T2B today. I was trying very hard to apply some of the things that Coach Allison taught us a few weeks ago during her gymnastics seminar. Heck, I even took the time to watch the instructional video Coach Dave posted featuring Camile LeBlanc Bazinet! Unfortunately, even an instructional video by the World’s Fittest Woman couldn’s save my reps today.

Specifically, I was driving my head through the window aggressively at the start of my kip. That was helpful to initiate the movement, but in coming down after touching the bar, I was just out of control.

I was flapping around on the bar like a piece of laundry in the wind. There was no consistency in starting the next rep. One rep was sort of kip, swing, then UP! The next was half-kip, swing, swing then UP! The next one was just kip and UP! I completed 18 reps in the first round without dropping off the bar. When I did, I conceded that toes to bar were just out of control today and I dropped to the floor to do toe raises from then on out.

Some days you just have to accept your limitations. No big deal.

I was able to complete the METCON in 16:49, so it seems the scales were appropriate.

Tomorrow should be a fun day. I kind of declared tomorrow to be the Holiday version of Funky Shorts Friday. Hope I’m not the only one who shows up dressed for the occasion.

