Kind of a disappointment to PR a benchmark WOD and walk away less than satisfied. But as always there are lessons to be learned and that’s how we improve.

Strength:
Push Press
5-5-5-3-3-3
As heavy as possible up to and beyond new 1RM

My current 1RM is 217.5#. I worked light with no intention of pushing towards a new 1RM. My focus today was on the METCON. I didn’t want to smoke my shoulders chasing a 1RM knowing the METCON of the day.

Therefore I worked the sets at 95, 115, 135, 155 and 2 sets at 165#, or 75% of 1RM. I was pretty satisfied with how everything felt.

METCON
Open 13.2
Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 10 minutes of:
115 pound Shoulder to overhead, 5 reps
115 pound Deadlift, 10 reps
15 Box jumps, 24” box

I’ve done this WOD twice before. Once during the Open season and then a second time later in 2013. I checked the blog to see my old scores.

During the Open, I scored a 210, 7 complete rounds. The next time around I scored 194 reps.

I was determined today to top that 7 round mark. At one point during the strength segment, Chip jokingly suggested a goal of 11 rounds. (Note: 3 time Crossfit champion Rich Froning scored 12 rounds + some reps when he did it). So I told Chip, ” eh, 9.” I meant it. I figured, “what the hell? Aim high, right?”

Well, I completed 7 rounds and 3 additional presses today. So the final score was 213. It’s a PR, but not a very satisfying one. I expected to have a wider margin between the two scores.

Looking at the raw scores in a vacuum, it’s difficult to accept that 2 years later, I’m not appreciably more fit. However, life is not a vacuum. There are lots of variables.

I reread my post from 2013, written in April. I have a note in there about being at an all time low weight of 210#. This is January. I was very casual about how I ate this holiday season and I am considerably more than 210# right now. That cost me on the step ups (yes, I did step ups, not box jumps in the hopes that they would be more efficient.).

I think it’s fair to say that in April of 2013, I was probably as close to what for me could be called peak condition. Today I was not. With that in mind, I accept the results. Afterall, I did do better. Now I focus on what to do next. Clean up my diet immediately, shed the extra weight (again), and get ready for this year’s Open at the end of February. It’s really just that simple.

