Let’s not waste time. Let’s just get into the meat of the matter.

Push Press

3-3-3-1-1-1
As heavy as possible

205# was my heaviest successful lift on the day.

I Missed 225# by a lock out! That’s it! I’m gonna get that soon and I’m pretty psyched about it.

Metcon:
Open WOD 14.1
Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 10 minutes of:
30 double-unders
75-lb. power snatches, 15 reps

I went into this blind meaning I deliberately did not look up my time from last March. I wanted to come into this without any notions about what I ought to be able to do.

Double unders were squirrelly today. Need to make the time again to practice them more. The issue of the day today was flapping my arms at the elbows. Couldn’t seem to pin them down. Ah well.

I completed 167 reps. In March I completed 175. It is what it is. Of course I would prefer to have done better today, but I’m not beating myself up about it. Just looking ahead to see what comes next.

Speaking of the Open, I’m already registered for the 2015 Open. I’ll be curious to see what they throw at us.

Some Random Observations/Ramblings

1) As mentioned, I’m already registered for the Open, though I’m a bit confused about it. I was under the impression that there would be different divsions based on ability (ie: Rx and scaled). I didn’t see any indication of that or opportunity to self-identify during the registration process. Perhaps they’re going to release two WODs for each week? Or was I totally mistaken about the whole Rx/Scale thing?

2) I realize that this year I’m on the upper limit of my Open Masters Age Bracket (40-44). I’m going to try not to let that be too much of a mental crutch as I compare my results to everyone else on the Leaderboard this year. ūüėČ

3) I need more Funky Shorts Friday players! If you’re in the 6:15 session at Crossfit Durham, prepare yourselves! I’m gonna start making a stink about this! Basically, the pestering will continue until I see some color on Friday¬†mornings, damnit!

4) Looking forward to watching friends compete in the Team Superfit Cary event tomorrow. I’m excited for them and I’m hoping it’s going to light my fire to take the last few steps to really get disciplined and dialed in for the year ahead.

5) I’m also looking forward to the Level 1 Cert course in February, although I confess I’m finding it tough to stay focused on the training handbook. It’s been a long time since I’ve needed to truly study for anything. Those are some muscles that need some serious retraining.

6) I wrap my wrists every workout. It’s a matter of routine more than any physical necessity. I prefer athletic tape over wrist wraps. Know why? Because I like that the adhesive never QUITE washes all the way off. I like¬†seeing it there while I spend the rest of my day sitting at a keyboard. It’s a constant reminder¬†through the day what I accomplished that morning. It makes me smile. It also makes for a fun conversation starter with people who don’t know I crossfit when we first meet and shake hands.

