Some days you just run into a METCON that makes you want to say, “I give up.” But hopefully, you keep on marching through.

Skill:
EMOM for 8 minutes:
Hang Power Clean from 1st position
Full Clean from 1st position
Use 50% 1RM and increase load each round as heavy as possible without missing reps

Even after a thorough warm up lead by Coach Ami, I was feeling pretty tight. So I kept these weights pretty light.

I worked the sets from 95# to 130# increasing by 5# each round. At these weights, form felt really good.

Metcon:
3 rounds for time of:
50 double-unders
25 knees-to-elbows
10 OHS (135/95)
Time cap of 15 minutes

I knew this one was going to be tough. I wasn’t certain I’d be able to get through it all in the time allotted.

I attempted a couple of warm up squats at the prescribed 135#. I got three reps in and I was shaking from my fingertips clear to my toes. I elected to scale back to 115#.

Funny thing about overhead squats. They are one of those lifts that tend to get a bit better as I go. Today was no different. I had to break the first set at eight reps. But the second and third sets went unbroken. Guess it’s a matter of getting a feel for them and getting comfortable with them.

Double unders were unpredictable. First round I think I hit 20, 24 and 6. I thought, “OK. They’re on today, but damn they’re fast. That could be tricky later.” It was. The second round was abysmal, but I stumbled through it. Third round after 3 false starts, I just did 150 single unders. There was no fighting it today.

Knees to Elbows caught me by surprise! I actually found them tougher to execute than a Toes 2 Bar today. I muddled through the first round, but for the second and third rounds I did toes raises to the pull up rig from the floor.

I don’t know my time for this one. I know that I heard Coach Ami call out “thirty seconds left.” I also know that I was done before she called time. I was too spent to think to look at the clock when I was done.

For those who read my “Ramblings” yesterday and might be wondering. I’ve decided I will go to the gym on Friday and take on Open WOD 14.4. That WOD really bothered me when we did it during the Open season last Spring. I want another run at it to see if I can improve that one. I’ve decided that testing that WOD is more meaningful to me right now than retesting Cindy. Wish me luck. I’m gonna need it.

