That was my quote for my Facebook charitable check in at Crossfit Durham this morning. It was pretty apt. Here’s why.

Strength:

Deadlift
Test for 1RM

I really wanted to be aggressive with deadlifts this morning, but it wasn’t meant to be.

I successfully pulled 315 pounds. That’s about 80% of my 1RM. I attempted 365, but that just wasn’t going anywhere today. I was kind of dejected about it at the time.

But when I made mention of it on Facebook this morning, a few friends right in to remind me:

1) I got up early on a Monday and did the work out. That’s a win right there.
2) The last 10 days or so have been extremely active and there have been some great high points among them.

So ultimately, I say “OK. It wasn’t what I was hoping for. Those days are gonna happen. No big deal.”

Metcon:
AMRAP 12
50 Double Unders
20 Kettlebell Swings (70/53)
7 Power Clean(185/135)

I scaled the swings to 63 pounds and the cleans to 165. That was a fair amount of work/weight. I completed 2 full rounds, plus a third round of DU’s, a third set of KB swings, and 3 cleans. So final score: 2 rounds + 73 reps.

Double unders can best be described as dicey today. I had a great first run of nearly 20 reps. That first round went by pretty darn quickly. The second round was a sloppy hot mess. The third set wasn’t too bad. Individual runs ranged anywhere from 12-2 reps. I would be more satisfied if all rounds would have been more consistent. Ah well.

I’m working out tomorrow but I have every intention of working LIGHT! Gonna be resting Wednesday and Thursday.

The Open WOD on Friday will be interesting. I will be travelling for work ALL of Thursday. If every thing goes as scheduled I won’t get back to my home until 1 am Friday. No way I’m doing an open WOD 5 hours later. The trick of the situation is, I’m taking part in a 10K run Saturday, so there’s really no opportunity to do the WOD over the weekend. Looks like the ‘best’ window will be one of the late Friday sessions.

I think it’s reasonable to say I’m going to cut myself some slack on Open WOD 15.2 no matter how it goes down.

