Decent workout today. I’m still adjusting to the idea that this infection has compromised my endurance and my ability to regulate my breathing/temperature. Need to stay mindful of that as I continue to recover. But that being said, it felt so good to be back in the gym today and finally feeling like I’m getting right again.

Strength: Deficit Deadlifts 5 sets of 3 at 85%

I sat out the day they established 1RM for these so I don’t have a 1RM. I figured about 90% of my traditional deadlift 1RM ought to work for planning purposes. My 1RM is 385. So I figured 90% is roughly 340. 85% of that came out to about 290#, so that was the target.

Turned out 270# was the most I could lift today and maintain solid form. I could lift 290# a couple of times, but the reps were ugly. I scaled back to focus on good form.

I got in four good sets of three. I was satisfied with that.

It was during the deadlifts that I realized I’m struggling to manage my breathing/body heat. This was hard work, but by the time I even got to the working sets, my t-shirt was soaked through. That’s not normal for me. That was part of the reason I only did four sets. I chose to slow down and give myself more time between sets.

METCON
4 rounds 3 min EMOM (Every Minute On the Minute)

7 deadlifts (225)
40 Double Unders
200M Run

*Start each round on the 3 minute mark. If you finish a round early, rest until the next 3 minute window begins.

I was the last one done in the 6:15 session and I didn’t finish within the cap, but I still enjoyed this METCON.

The first round went great. I ran off 28 double unders to start, finished that set quickly, then ran a decent 200m. I returned to the gym with well over 30 seconds, possibly closer to 45 seconds left.

I believe I finished the second round with 20 or so seconds remaining.

I finished the third round 15 or seconds deep into the 4 round window. So I started that fourth round in the hole.

Still, I churned through it. The clock had expired when I got back to the gym, so I don’t know my final time. The last 200m was a total slog.

I don’t know if it’s the staph infection, the antibiotics, the irregular workout schedule or a combination of all of those things, but right now my endurance is just shot. I look forward to getting better and getting back into a steady workout routine to get that back on track.

Looking ahead, Memorial Day Monday the gym will be doing the traditional Murph Hero WOD. Run 1 mile, 100 pull ups, 200 push ups, 300 air squats, Run 1 mile. Rx for this is to complete all that work wearing a 20# weight vest.

Not sure what I’m going to do that day. I’ve never done the WOD solo. I’ve always done it as a partner WOD. Up until this infection, I had been tinkering with the idea that perhaps this would be the year I would attempt it solo. Scaled though, no weight vest. However, that’s pretty much off the table, I think.

Honestly, the idea of 2 miles of running sounds intimidating right now. Bottom line, I’ll do the WOD on Monday. But I’ll definitely do it as a partner WOD and the run distances are going to be game-day decisions.

That’s all right though. Cool as it would be to test myself and try to complete Murph solo, I have always found that these hero WODS are personally more meaningful when completed with a battle buddy. There’s just something about the camaraderie of enduring together that appeals to me.

