After a month of feeling blargh at best, it feels great to be feeling scrappy in the gym and really having some fun tinkering with things. Although, I suspect tomorrow I’m going to be questioning my decision-making skills again. But it was worth it. Here’s how it went down.

Strength:
Deficit Deadlift
6-6-6 @ 75% 1RM

My 1RM deficit deadlift is 340. So 75% is 255. I worked up to that pretty quick and used 25# plates to create the required deficit. Reps felt pretty darn good and form seemed to hold together across all reps.

Having said that, I notice that for reasons I can’t pinpoint, my first rep is almost always the weakest (in terms of form). I do that first rep and I can feel something’s off so I adjust and then hold that form for the remaining reps. Not sure why I’m not getting set properly right from the get-go. Need to fix that because you don’t get two attempts at a 1RM.

Metcon:
5 Rounds
20 RKB (52/35)
Walking lunge length of rig
10 Hand release pushups
Walking lunge length of rig
Time cap of 15 minutes

So I looked at this WOD and thought, “Why not add some extra core work and make the walking lunges overhead walking lunges?!” So as we set up I grabbed a 15# plate and that’s what I did. I talked a buddy into trying it with me. He reverted to strict walking lunges after 2 rounds.

I did this WOD very nearly unbroken. Swings were unbroken. Walking lunges were all unbroken and the plate never came down from overhead. The push ups burned me. The last two rounds I broke those reps in 8 and 2. Ah well.

Finished the work in 11:32. I was very pleased with that.

It has been quite some time since I felt like I could do more than just prescribed. That’s a pretty empowering feeling.

Random Thoughts:

The kids are out of school, so my morning schedule is a lot more lax. This means a couple of things. 1) I’ll be tinkering with my schedule and not working out strictly at 6:15 from now until August 2) It’s time for Year 3 (I think) of the Funky Shorts Crossfit Roadshow. Time to work out which boxes to visit and when! Should be fun!

