The past couple of workouts I have had this mindset where I’ve been doing things just out of personal curiosity and to amuse myself. The results and the potential impact (positive and negative) have been mixed.

July 3

Wasn’t sure what I wanted to do on this particular day. I didn’t want to do anything over the top. Didn’t feel much like running. While it was a beautiful day, It was too soggy after days of rain to do the “Farmer’s Workout” I had in mind at my in-laws. I would have torn up their property unnecessarily. So I was lying in bed wondering what to do when it hit me.

If you follow this blog or know me personally, you know that when I do double unders, I tend to travel backwards. So much so that over the years I’ve joked with my coaches and work out friends that one day I would test my max distance double unders. So just to satify my own curiosity, that’s what I did.

I went to the local high school track and made several attempts seeing how many reps I could string together and how far I would travel along a lane on the track. My best stretch on the day was about 20 reps covering a distance of approximately 10 meters.

Is that a useful skill? No. Will I ever use it in a competition? No. Was it counterproductive to my other training? Debatable. Was it fun to do? Hell, yes!

After a half dozen attempts at that I made a half-hearted attempt at some distance jump roping. I didn’t really have a plan for this and frankly, it was harder than I anticipated, so I bailed.

I thought I’d do 400M jumping rope, single unders, forward for time. I got about 50M and switched to ‘running’ jump rope (skipping the rope one foot at a time per rep). I did that for nearly 150M and it had taken me something like 3 minutes to get that far. At that point, I kind of accepted that my heart wasn’t really in this and I stopped.

Since then, a friend has provided a workout suggestion of running and jumping rope for distance that I might cut in half and attempt some time in the future. I need much more practice at the running jump rope though.

It was a fun way to spend the morning.

Monday, July 6.

Strength: Overhead Squat 1RM

Wasn’t certain how this was going to go with my sore rotator cuff. But it’s been some time since I’ve tested this, so I was eager to give it a go.

I experimented a bit during the warm ups and discovered that the initial press, lock out and squat weren’t a problem for my shoulder. Trying to return the bar to my shoulders in a controlled way after a rep was painful with anything over 95#. So I simply dropped the bar after each rep.

I maxxed out today at 185#. That’s just 10# shy of my all time PR, so it was a good day.

METCON:

20 Minute Cap:
100 Pull ups
2-3 minutes of rest
100 push ups

For a guy who’s trying to baby a sore rotator cuff, this looked like absolute misery.

Coach Doug showed me how to do one arm ring rows as a sub for pull ups. I’ve done plenty of ring rows, but never tested just one arm. So I kind of viewed this as a max reps attempt. The ring was set at chest height and I stood with my feet positioned arms length away from the rings.

I did 7 reps every minute on the minute for 8 minutes, then 5 reps on roughly the half minute for two more minutes for a total of 76 reps. At that point, at Couch Doug’s guidance I took a minute or two of rest and switched to push ups.

I started doing sets of 15 reps on the minute and figured out after three sets that was overly aggressive. I dropped to sets of 5 and did them roughly on the half minute. I was surprised to discover that these started to aggravate my shoulder. I might have overdone these.

I got caught up in the back and forth between Mike and Greg. They were pacing each other and I realized that I was keeping up with them. I never called out my scores to them, but I kept an ear to where they were and worked to match pace.

When time expired I had completed 90 total reps. I’m satisfied with the number and in the moment I was pleased with the effort.

Given how my shoulder feels right now, I’m wishing I hadn’t let the competitive spirit get the better of me. I’m wishing I would have modified somehow (set a personal cap of less reps, perhaps experimented with one arm push ups), or simply bowed out. I don’t think I’ve done any additional damage, but I certainly didn’t do myself any favors towards the overall recovery either. Ah well, live and learn.

