Some days it’s all about how you frame what what happens.

I left the gym this morning mulling over how I scaled the METCON and still failed to complete it. I wasn’t overly concerned about it, but it was rattling around in my head.

The METCON was

21-15-9

Power Cleans
Front Rack Lunges
Push Jerks

The prescribed weight was 135 and we were given 15 minutes to complete it. I scaled the weight to 115#. When the clock expired I had completed 3 front rack lunges in the round of 9. So I came up 15 reps short.

It’s always so easy to get caught up in what we didn’t do. I know I’m not the only one. Then I got to thinking about what I did do today.

During our skill work today I pulled off an 8 or so second free standing handstand. I kicked up to the wall to set myself then leaned out away from the wall and stayed there! It was an awesome feeling. Even better than doing it was having a witness! As soon as my feet hit the floor I was looking around to see if anyone saw me. My buddy Mike called out immediately, “I saw that, Paul! Awesome!”

So that happened today and that’s pretty damn cool.

When I got home I pulled out a calculator. There were 135 possible reps in this METCON. I did 120.

120 reps x 115 pounds is 13,800 freaking pounds! I moved 6.9 tons of weight in 15 minutes this morning! Safely!

I think it’s fair to call that an accomplishment.

So remember folks, don’t get down about what you didn’t do. Catch your breath and take pride in what you did accomplish!

