Figuring out what works and what doesn’t for this goofy knee is quite the learning experience.

Strength: Bench Press – the assigned strength segment today was to establish a 1RM squat clean. Coach Doug knows that I’ve been avoiding the cleans, especially heavy ones. So he asked me, “when’s the last time you did the bench press?” I thought about it and realized it’s been months, so I thanked him for the suggestion and set off to work that.

I didn’t want to be a distraction to Doug or other athletes who were working the assigned lift, so I made up my mind that I would not chase a 1RM. Turned out to be a good decision.

Turns out that when I set up for the bench, screwing my feet into the floor and bracing the left foot against the foot of the bench creates enough torque up the inside of my leg that it’s uncomfortable on my knee. Never saw that coming.

It’s easy enough to manage. Simply don’t set my feet so hard and tight. Just means I had to scale back the weights lifted a bit more than expected. However, I never expected a trick knee to impact my bench press. t the moment Doug made the suggestion, it seemed like it should be stress free. Ah well.

METCON
EMOM 10 Minutes

Odd Minute: 8 pull ups and 8 Thrusters (95#-Rx)
Even Minute 8 Ring Rows and 8 Overhead Squats (95 – Rx)

This workout really had me vexed. I didn’t know how to approach scaling it. Kind of embarrassed to admit that 8 pull ups at a clip takes way longer than a minute EMOM would allow. So I had to scale those reps some.

I wasn’t certain how my knee would handle Thrusters and Overhead Squats, so I wasn’t sure what to do there. Part of me thought, “scale the weight back.” However, those 95# are pretty standard numbers and I’m guessing both of those movements could show up in the Open. So it seemed like a good idea to test them out. Better to know in advance how my body might react.

On the other hand, 40 reps each of Thrusters and OHS seemed like it would be pressing my luck. It seemed like that with that volume I was pretty much guaranteed to pop my knee. In the end I decided to go with the Rx weight and scale reps back for all movements to 4. It turned out to be a sound decision. It was a good amount of work, but not punishing. If I was really pushing the envelope, I might have gone with 5 of everything each round. I say this because for the final round I had enough left in the tank to do eight ring rows with my feet on the floor and eight over head squats.

Good news is my knee never popped. It actually felt very stable and reliable during the thrusters and squats. Where I had to pay special attention and use caution was executing the snatch to get the bar overhead for the squats. In hindsight, it would have been safer to muscle clean the bar up, press it overhead to my back, set my hands, press and lock it out and then squat. In the heat of the METCON, I chose expedience. I got away with it today.

I’m getting excited for the Open and the CFD Intramurals! Drafted team members have been assigned and invitations to athletes are starting to go out from team captains. I am pleased to say that I have received and accepted an invitation. It’s not clear to me if it’s cool to declare my allegiance quite yet, but I’m looking forward to getting my FLEX on in every CAPACITY, when things get under way. 😉

