Spent a good portion of today experimenting with different things. Mostly I want to see how things feel on the recovering knee.

Started with balance work 16′ of 4″ beam, on the floor.

5 x Walking Forward with pivot (standing tall) at end – unbroken

5 x Walking Backward with pivot (standing tall) at end – 3 circuits unbroken, stepped off, then 2 more

Pivots all felt good. I was a bit concerned that the twisting might be an issue, but no problems today.

I also did 5 sets of side shuffle on the beam, but did a one minute side stance hold on the beam on the balls of my feet. Of all the beam work today, this static hold proved to be most challenging. That was unexpected. I was surprisingly unstable. It had nothing to do with the knee. All the small muscles around the knee were wobbly. Very unexpected.

I did wall sit holds for my assigned rehab work. I completed a single 1 minute hold, then 3 two minute holds.

After that I put PVC pipes in J-hooks in facing racks on each side of the rig. This meant I could stand sideways to the PVC, step over, take two sideways steps, then step over the second PVC. I went from one side of the rig to the other and back to my starting position and counted that as one lap. I did 5 laps with no discomfort. Very satisfying.

Onto the bike for a moderate ride. 12 minutes staying at a minimum 14 mph pace, never reaching 16 mph. I racked up 92 calories in that time and had a fair sweat going on after the ride.

From there I joined the crossfit class METCON: Death By Pullups. For the unfamiliar: With a continuously running clock do one pull-up the first minute, two pull-ups the second minute, three pull-ups the third minute… continuing as long as you are able.

I recently discovered that excessive kipping torques my knee uncomfortably. Therefore I committed to maintaining really tight body lines and trying not to kip wildly. This meant I probably didn’t complete quite as many rounds as I otherwise could have, but in the long run I’m optimistic that this will make my kipping more efficient, so I’m good with it.

I completed the 8th round and got 4 pull ups in the round of nine, but at that point pull ups were just gone. I missed the stated goal of scaling to a level that would allow you to get to 10 or 12 rounds, but I’m satisfied with the results.

There were a surprising number of aspects to this WOD that required attention in order to protect my knee. I jumped up to the bar using my right leg only. I haven’t attempted any jumping of any kind and don’t intend to for a while. I don’t know if it would be painful or not. I don’t know if it would be detrimental to my recovery or not. Frankly, the PT never mentioned it. I’m concluding that since she told me no deep squatting and no explosive movements jumping would fall in that category. But with pull ups I’m not really landing here. I’m jumping and hanging. Still, better safe than sorry. Right-leg only jumps for now.

Then I had to be mindful to land on just the right foot. Again, don’t know if it would hurt or not. Would rather not discover the answer the hard way. Just doesn’t seem prudent to test it yet.

Finally, keeping my bodylines tight all through the reps was the biggest running challenge. But I enjoyed it.

From a morale standpoint, it was nice to take part in a METCON Rx with the rest of the group. Definitely a good day.

