I’ve been resting since Thursday. We did a METCON that day in which I did over 100 push presses. Since then my biceps have been so sore that they’re tender to the touch. When I say ‘tender to the touch’ I mean that wearing t-shirts with snug cuffs around my arms has been uncomfortable. Overall my arms have just feel leaden since then.  I don’t ever recall feeling that before. Knowing that, I was very careful about how I went about working out today.

Segment 1:
EMOM 5 minutes:
2 Hang Snatches (hip position)

Did these reps at 65#. Arms were leaden, but the drops were mostly smooth.

Rest 1:00

EMOM 5 minutes –
2 Hang Snatches (below knee) – Things started to warm up. First couple sets at 75#. Last 3 sets at 95#.

Rest 1:00

EMOM 5 minutes –
1 Snatch (from the floor) – Nice clean rep at 95#.

Segment 2:
On the 0:00 – 5 Back Squats – 155#
On the 2:00 – 4 Back Squats – 185#
On the 4:00 – 3 Back Squats – 185#
On the 6:00 – 2 Back Squats – 205#
On the 8:00 – 1 Back Squat – 215#
Add weight each round

Weights were way off of targets, but I couldn’t remember the last time I did back squats! Kept weights light just to feel the lifts and move through the range of motion.

Segment 3:
1,000m Run
40 Pullups
30 Thrusters (45/35)
20 Burpees
Direction: Scale to finish in under 15 minutes

Was concerned about how long a 1000M would take, so I rowed 1500M. I scaled the pull ups to ring rows. I had attempted a few warm up pull ups and the contraction to get my chin over the bar was absolutely painful in my biceps. So I abandoned those and scaled to ring rows. Was able to execute those in 5 sets of 8.

I intended to get through thrusters in two sets, but ended up going 16, 7 and 7. Again, the arms were just fried and my biceps were crying

Slogged my way through 20 burpees and finished the METCON in 13:46.

It wasn’t an impressive or sexy workout in any way, but I got through it, so I’m satisfied. Pleased that I was able to find the correct scales to get through in the alloted time cap.

I also went in extra early today to work out with the 6am crew. That was kind of fun. There was lots of good natured “what are you doing here?” Additionally, I got to share a rack and bar for the back squats with a good friend. So that was pretty cool.

I’m going to shift my work out window to evenings for the next few days, I think. Erin and Lil Bit are going out of town Tuesday to meet my in-laws and bring the Whirlwind home on Thursday. The ladies will be leaving early Tuesday when I would normally be at the gym. So I think I’m gonna stay home, see them off, and hit the gym after work. From there, I’ll adjust as the week advances…assuming my arms still work and I can dress myself! 😉

