Some things went better than others today. That’s just sort of the flow of things, I guess.

Segment 1:
OTM x 6 – 1 Squat Snatch (90%)
Rest 4:00
OTM x 6 – 1 Squat Clean and Jerk (90%)
Rest 4:00
30 Muscle Ups for time

I worked the snatches up to 125# and while I probably wasn’t catching in a full squat snatch, I was pretty close to the bottom position. So I was satisfied with these. 125# is right in the vicinity of the assigned target weight. So this was a strong segment for me.

Cleans got weird on me. I never lifted more than 135# which is well short of the 90% target and I was never really close to a squat clean. Really not certain why, either. Nothing hurt. Nothing was particularly wrong. Simply couldn’t seem to convince myself to go meet the bar when I was perfectly capable of yanking it clear up to my chin. At the time, I was hesitant to add more weight, because I wasn’t convinced I would drop deep enough and fast enough. In hindsight, I probably SHOULD have loaded the bar heavier to force me under it.

30 muscle ups is simply not possible for me. I elected to work strict pull ups today to build strength. This was an interesting thing. I’m one of those classic Crossfit athletes who figured out how to kip before he really mastered strict pull ups and got all of the strength benefits from them that I could. Once I got the kip, I never really looked back. That was a mistake. Any time I’m on the rig now, my pull up motion begins with a bow to the front.

Because I haven’t mastered strict pull ups and don’t work them frequently enough, I lack true strength in my lats and shoulders that I should have. It’s a funny little feedback loop now. My kipping pull ups would be more efficient if I was stronger/better at strict. So add strict pull ups to a long list of Goats that I continue to try to prioritize and improve.

Today, I decided to commit to addressing them. In the time that Doug allotted for this work, I got 20 really good reps. Mostly in pairs, some times as singles. My strict pull ups still start with a push back or off the bar before pulling up. I’m not 100% clear if that would count as strict or not in a competition. But I made sure that I didn’t arch forward first into a Superman position before starting up. In my mind, that would have been a kip. Ultimately, I was pleased with this work, but there’s a lot of progress that needs to be made here.

Segment 2:
Alternating Tabata (8 Rds of :20s/:10s):
Front Squats (115/80)
Toes to Bar
20 seconds of Front Squats, followed by a 10 second break
Followed by 20 seconds of TTB, with another 10 second break.
Repeat this process for a total of 8 sets.

I did this METCON Rx! Been a long time since I’ve been able to say that. That was a small confidence boost.

I tried very hard to stick to a target number of reps each round for each exercise, but had to modify a bit on the fly.

First round I hit 6 squats and 4 T2B. Not big numbers, but good for me. I tried to sustain those throughout the eight rounds.

After the round of 4 I had to modify to 5 squats. I also only completed 2 T2B in the round of 6. My hands were fried and my lungs were gassed. I just needed the extra rest.

So in the end 4 rounds of 6 squats and 4 rounds of 5 reps = 44 Front squats and 7 rounds of 4 T2B and 1 round of 2 = 30 T2B. Total work 74 reps, Rx. I’m pretty good with that.

