Today we got to do one of my all time favorite WODs. As is my normal, things got kind of weird and I was trying to make all kinds of deals with myself.

Fight Gone Bad
3 Rounds for Max Reps:
1:00 Wallballs (20/14)
1:00 SDHP (75/55)
1:00 Box Jumps (20)
1:00 Push Press (75/55)
1:00 Row (Calories)
1:00 Rest

This WOD has long been special to me because five years ago when I shifted from Bootcamp to Crossfit, this was one of if not the first WOD that I was able to complete as prescribed. That’s always kind of a big deal in the Crossfit world, so it’s a workout with special significance.

I didn’t review my old scores. I simply went into today with a goal of scoring 300. Knowing my relative strengths I figured it was attainable, if I relied heavily on the Wall Balls, Push Press and Row.

First round – 101 reps. Right on track.

Second Round 94 reps. Not where I needed to be, but not too bad. I was still hopeful and I started crunching numbers in my head during the rest waiting for round three.

Third round – 79 reps! The wheels just flat fell of the wagon and I started bargaining with myself right from the start. I fell short of my 25 rep goal on the wall balls and went into the Sumo Deadlift High Pulls saying, “that’s ok. Make up a couple reps there, then hammer the box jumps hard.”

By the time the SDHP were over I was even deeper in the hole. They were by far my biggest weakness. In the last round, box jumps were no help. I couldn’t make up any ground there. I was still optimistic. Push press is a real strength of mine. I knew 300 was gone, but I thought I could make up some ground and crack 285 or 290 perhaps, but by the time I was done with the presses and headed to the rower, I realized, “Oh, sh1t! I need like a 40 calorie plus row to get anywhere near 300!” I came up with 18 or 19.

I don’t have my reps by exercise by round for all exercises. Too much to try and track in my head. Still I am aware that my rows were my strength and the most consistent today. I hit 20, 19, 18 calories. Push presses were next, followed by wall balls.

When I did the math and came up with my final score of 274 I was a kinda bummed. Not only had I missed my goal, but somehow I had it in my head that 274 matched my previous score. It was disheartening to think that five years later I couldn’t improve on my initial score. Later in the morning, I checked the blog and realized that my old score (and the one from 5 years ago is my only recorded score) was a 247. So that’s a 27 rep, or 10% improvement! I’m very pleased with that.

I do still believe that I can crack 300. I respect that the 26 additional reps is a long way to go, but I don’t think it’s unrealistic or unattainable. Guess we’ll just have to make it one more goal on the list.

