As happens from time to time, some skills and strengths just seem to evaporate. Not sure why it’s happening, but it is. This time it’s pull ups.

Segment 1:
5 Rounds, NOT for time:
5 Front Squats – you choose the weight
5 Weighted Pullups – you choose the weight
5 Weighted Ring Dips – you choose the weight

MOAR Front Squats! Oh, boy! Worked sets of 95, 125, 145 and two sets at 155. Wasn’t bad. Wasn’t great. My legs were in better shape than most at the 7:15 session as I rested yesterday. Most folks were feeling very tight from the deadlift work on Tuesday. I had no such excuse.

Pull ups were a disappointment. I’ve mentioned in a previous post that strict pull ups are a goat of mine and I’m trying to improve them. Today seemed like a perfect opportunity.

I did the first set of 5 with a 15# dumb bell between my legs. My nose was barely clearing the bar for the last 2 reps. So I went back for an 8# dumb bell. I did 3 reps in each of the next three sets and aborted the 5th set. Not really the kind of perserverence and determination that I should be striving for, but man they were just GONE! Don’t know why. Just couldn’t seem to make the muscles fire.

I was grumpy about the pull ups and therefore determined to compensate on the dips. I chose bar dips with the 8# dumb bell. My reps were VERY deep and I did all the reps and all five sets. Small compensation/consolation.

Segment 2:
2 Rounds:
20 Thrusters (95/65)
20 Pullups
20 Wall Balls (20/14)
20 Double Unders
Scale to finish in 12 minutes or less

Doug made it clear that this WOD should be fast. He instructed us to select weights/scales for exercises that would allow us to go nearly unbroken all the way through.

I intended to 95# thrusters but in warming them up realized that would be a mistake. I scaled to 75.

Given my performance on the previous work, I went straight to ring rows instead of pull ups. I knew that if I attempted pull ups, I’d spend too much time standing around glaring at the rig in frustration.

At least the wall balls and double unders were Rx. In fact, double unders were the highlight of the METCON! I ran off the first set of 20 reps unbroken! Been a LONG time since I’ve been able to say that!

I finished the WOD in a bit more than 10 minutes. 10:14, I believe.

I have very mixed feelings about this WOD. With the team competition coming up in roughly 8 weeks, I’m not encouraged that my pull ups have evaporated and that 95# thrusters felt so challengings. Those two exercises are staples of many competitions. Hopefully, grinding through the strength work doing strict reps, will improve my overall strength so that when I elect to do kipping in a competitive event, I’ll be stronger and faster. We’ll see.

On the flip side, I was very encouraged with my double unders. Those are frequently included in competitions too and often they’re a real bugaboo for me.

Call it a 50/50 sort of day, I guess.

