Wow. Just. Wow. As is so often the case in Crossfit, it’s the simple WODs that are the most savage. It’s been a long time since I had to play mental tricks and make all kinds of deals with myself just to get to the finish line as I did today.

Segment 1:
Work up to a heavy Complex of 1 Hang Snatch Pull + 1 Hang Squat Snatch

This was pretty succinct and straight forward. Worked up to a complex of 115#. Not terribly heavy, but Doug helped me fix a hitch in my set up. The result was a much better landing position well back in my heels instead of up on my toes. Need to keep that in mind.

Segment 2:
EMOM 30 minutes
Odd: 10 Burpees
Even: 150M Run

Look at that WOD, simple, elegant….SAVAGE

The first thing that got in my head is that it’s an EMOM. You WILL work for 30 minutes. No negotiating. No getting around it. No chance that you might finish in less time, if was a 30 minute cap. So buckle up, you’re in for the whole ride.

Second thing that hit me was the numbers. Instinctively, I added up the number of reps and overall distance. That was a mistake that I had to overcome later.

Third thing that got me: bodyweight…all bodyweight. I’m a lot lighter than I used to be years ago. I’m not as light as I would like to be and an all bodyweight WOD is a bear for me.

Honestly, I was really pleased with myself and how things were going for about 15 minutes. I was finishing burpees consistently in the 43 to 46 second range. Runs were all coming in around the same time.

Somewhere around the 18 minute mark though, I just got angry at the whole damn situation.

“This is stupid WOD! 12 more minutes of this garbage?! I’m not going to make it. I should just pull over on this run, dry heave a while and lay off. I’ll sit out one round of each and then dive back in.”

I really don’t know why I didn’t. But I argued with myself for about 3 more minutes while continuing to work. In that time, I figured out that even though my attitude sucked, my pace had not fallen off significantly and we were considerably closer to the finish line.

At that point, I changed my focus. I stopped looking ahead and only thought about the round I was in.

“Ok. 10 burpees in 45 seconds. You can do that. 10 burpeees. That’s it.”

Then it was, “150M in 45 seconds. You can do that. Just focus on THIS run.”

It worked. My mind calmed down and I was able to stay in motion and complete the WOD as prescribed.

Some days, the challenge is not on the floor. It’s between our ears.

