If you’re familiar with Crossfit and double unders (jumping rope where the rope passes under you feet twice per one jump), then I’m  guessing you know that double unders have a vibe, and some times a life, all their own.

I’m not a person who can consciously set a pace for double unders, control that pace and replicate it day to day. When I do double unders there’s a pace of the day. I have to find that pace while warming up and once I find it, then hopefully it’s manageable and I can replicate it set to set.

Some days it’s smooth and easy, some days it’s moderate…then there are days like today. Today was a day where the only pace at which I was able to synchronize my hands and feet would be one that was best described as frantic. It was fast, crazy fast. It was erratic, exasperating, and exhausting. More than once, Doug came by and encouraged me to slow down and relax but it wasn’t there.

All attempts at anything less than warp speed resulted in trips and resets after 2 reps at best. These segments were supposed to be fast, but this was kind of ridiculous.

I chose to stick with double unders simply because I need the practice and I need to try and learn to manage them. It was a stubborn choice perhaps, but I stand by it.

Segment 1:
With a running clock…
AMRAP 5 minutes:
60 Double Unders
21 Deadlift (95/65)
Rest 5:00

This was the ugliest segment by far. I kept trying to slow down. I was trying to force myself to settle in and make myself relax and find an easy place where my hands and feet synched up. After roughly 20 sets of 2 and 2 + minutes; I abandoned my rope and moved to deadlifts.

I then went back to my rope. I completed enough double unders to claim 1 round and 30 reps; but I didn’t declare Rx since I modfied the rep scheme.

Segment 2:
AMRAP 5 minutes:
45 Double Unders
15 Front Squats (95/65)
Rest 5:00

I let myself speed up the double unders here and things smoothed out somewhat for that segment, but that meant I was absolutely gasping through the front squats and unable to go unbroken at a very light weight.

Completed 1 round and 51 reps Rx here.

Segment 3:
AMRAP 5 minutes:
30 Double Unders
9 Thrusters (95/65)

For the last segment I just decided to embrace the insanity and just let things fly. It was ugly. It was inefficient, but it was arguably effective as I hit my longest run of the METCON 23 unbroken double unders, during this segment. When the five minutes was up I completed two full rounds. Most days, I don’t like thrusters. Today I was so relieved to be able to set my rope aside and pick up the bar. I was disappointed that there were only 9 per round.

Talk about an absolutely spastic work out! Yeesh.

