This workout got the better of me today and I didn’t see that coming. Still not certain how I feel about it. I do know that we got A LOT accomplished in a one hour class!

The last round of weights for the cleans were out of my league. The most I’ve ever cleaned is 210#. I scaled the weights to 135, 155 and 185 by segment.

There were more athletes than rowers this morning so Coach Doug asked for volunteers to ride the Assault Bike in lieu of rowing. I jumped at that offer. I much prefer the bike over rowing or running; so I was all in for that.

Doug set the bike standard at 20, 16 and 12 cals by round. More on that in a bit.

Segment 1:
5 Minute Window…
Row 400m + 1 Rd of Cindy
AMRAP Power Cleans (155/105)
-rest 5 mins-

I was first to the rig in this segment. The round of Cindy (5 pull ups, 10 push ups, 15 squats) was fine. There was ample time for cleans. I complete 20 by the time the five minute window was over. I was pretty pleased with that segment.

Segment 2:
5 Minute Window…
Row 300m + 2 Rds of Cindy
AMRAP Power Cleans (185/135) – at least increase the load from the first round
-5 min rest-

I was first off the bike this round and I think second to the rig. 2 rounds of Cindy were definitely tougher. Push ups got squirrelly fast! This was an unpleasant surprise. I had to break up the second set of push ups into 5 and 5. Still, there was time for 9 power cleans and that seemed to be reasonably close to what everyone else accomplished. So it seemed an appropriate scale. I was still satisfied after this round.

Segment 3:
5 Minute Window…
Row 200m + 3 Rd of Cindy
AMRAP Power Cleans (225/155) – increase the load from the second round

Apparently, Coach Doug felt the bike scale was too easy. He challenged those of us on the bike to complete 20 calories again for the final round. Not certain where I came off the bike for this round. All I know is that I sloggged down TREMENDOUSLY during the required rounds of Cindy. So much so that I was on the eighth squat of the third round when time expired. I never got to the 185# bar. Not gonna lie. That was discouraging. I had no illusions that I was going to do dozens of power cleans, but I had every expectation of myself that I would get to the bar and get in a couple of reps!

Segment 4:
EMOM 12 minutes
Odd: 10 C2B Pullups
Even: 15 Wall Balls (20/14)

For this segment, I attempted one round of chin over bar pull ups. But they were gone. Partly, I was tired. Partly, my heart wasn’t in them. I was still sulking over the previous segment. Partly, I wanted to protect my hands from tearing further with a competition coming up in 10 days. I tore them a bit last Thursday and they are still healing, so I’m nursing them a bit this week. So I went to ring rows for all other assigned rounds. Wall balls were tough, but I did all rounds unbroken. That felt like a bit of redemption after a disappointing third segment.

All in all, not an awful performance, not a day to celebrate either. They’re going to happen, I guess. I would have liked to gotten one power clean in during that third segment. It’s not the end of the world, to be sure. I’m a bit concerned about how tight my shoulders and neck are right now. Need to put some serious effort into mobility in that region today and for the next few days.

