Feeling pretty good about training lately. Learning a few things about myself and trying to take those lessons to heart. Also have some questions that I feel need some answers.

I’m not going to cover all the work outs since the last post a week ago. I will say that I got my requisite 4 work outs in last week and yesterday. So that was cool. I’m getting my intended work in and staying on schedule. They went fine. Each with their own ups and downs. No “Highlight Reel” moments, no PR’s or such. So to save time and space, I’m going to forgo recapping each one individually.

I will say this about Monday’s WOD, which included Bar Muscle Ups. I was pretty excited about those however, I was very active on Sunday and very LAZY about my diet. I paid greatly for that on Monday morning. I couldn’t get my hips NEAR the bar, let alone over. Bummer.

Today’s WOD and part of yesterday’s workout has me wondering about a lot of things

Segment 1:
AMRAP 4 minutes
“Fran”
21-15-9
Thrusters (95/65)
Pull-ups
Rest 4:00

The guidance on all of these segments was to keep moving. So we were to scale weights and movements to allow that to happen. We were to pace ourselves and control our heart rates; but don’t stand around looking at the bar because it was too heavy; or stalling in the next exercise because it was too difficult.

With that in mind, I scaled Thrusters to 75#. My legs were feeling pretty creaky and tired after the 20 heavy back squats and 150 air squats in Monday’s session. Moving through 95# thrusters would have been a real grind.

I managed to work through the round of 21 plus another 11 thrusters. So 53 reps. Pull ups were slower than I would have liked, but that was not unexpected.

Segment 2:
AMRAP 4 minutes
“Diane”
21-15-9
Deadlifts (225/155)
Handstand Push-ups
Rest 4:00

Scaled the DL to 185# and the plan for HSPU was to do 7-5-3 (counting attempts as reps).

Once the clock was running, it became apparent that even 7 HSPU’s would be too much. I made the decision to pull back to 5. Turned out to be 2 good reps and 3 attempts.

Total score in the 4 minute window: 38 reps = 21 DL, 5 HSPU, 12 DL.

Segment 3:
AMRAP 4 minutes:
“Grace”
30 Clean & Jerks (135/95)

I did this at 115# and JUST completed all 30 reps in 3:58.

All of this ‘parts of benchmark WODS’ and some recent heavy back squat work has me wondering about benchmark testing and one rep maxes. As we were cooling down and cleaning up, Coach Doug asked me if I thought I could match today’s Grace performance at the Rx weight, if I was fresh. It’s a very interesting question.

At the time, I told him my Grace PR, Rx, was just under 5 minutes. So I was reasonably confident that if I was fresh and did the WOD Rx, I could certainly get closer to 4 minutes than 5; but I wasn’t certain I could get under 4. In checking an old WOD book; I now see that I was mistaken. In May of 2014, I did Grace Rx in 4:30. Now, I’m really wondering….could I do Grace Rx in under 4 minutes? I’m damn curious.

That 2014 score brings up an interesting point too. In doing some WOD Book research – most of my last recorded Benchmark scores are from 2014! Many are even older. That’s not a total surprise. Given all the medical challenges in my leg in 2015 which carried over into the middle of this year; benchmark testing was not realistic. But now, I would be really curious to put this competition programming that the gym has been using to the test.

The other part of this equation is that all of my 1RM scores are dated (minimum 1yr old, most older than that). I can tell in our programming that my lifts are off (mostly down), but I don’t know by how much. I’d like to have updated numbers (whatever they might be) to help me calculate work percentages and work smarter.

So with that in mind, I’m thinking that I may add benchmark testing and 1RM testing into my schedule. Perhaps on Saturdays after coaching. That may not be ideal. Coaching three consecutive sessions takes a surprising amount of energy. I don’t know that I can consider myself “fresh” at that point in a day. However, it would be the most convenient time to do it. I’ll have to think about it and see.

