Some days you just have to write a work out off as ‘just not your day’ and see what you can do the next time around. That’s the way this week ended for me.

Thursday, 11/17
Segment 1:
21-15-9:
hang squat cleans (115/75)
Chest-to-bar pull-ups

This WOD absolutely PUNK’D me! It looked straight forward and not overly punishing.

I knew I would scale the pull ups. My plan was to do C2B as long as possible, then go to chin over bar.

I wasn’t worried about the clean weights. 115# should be totally manageable. But then warming up a weird thing happened. Everything between my belly button to my knees front and back just felt ‘HEAVY’ and I was moving SO slowly. I ended up scaling the cleans to 95# and doing chin over bar pull ups from the word ‘go.’

I still need 11:14 of the 12 minute cap that Coach Charlotte set! Did not see that coming.

What made it even weirder was that I took a rest day Wednesday! I did mobility too, and was sure to get a good night’s rest. I did everything by the numbers and still just felt flat.

Not a big deal. Just unexpected. Decided to shake it off and come back on Friday.
Friday, October 18.
Segment 1:
Snatch
65%/2
70%/2
75%/2
80%/1
85%/1
90%/1

You know you’re in for a good day when your snatch is feeling right! Bottom line, I hit a power snatch at 155#. The most I’ve ever put up in a snatch is 165# and that’s been years ago now. I got greedy and took two shots at 170# and couldn’t get them.

I pulled them plenty high enough. I just didn’t have the confidence to shoot my big ol’ butt under the bar where I could catch them.

It felt so good to be doing well with this lift today. It’s been a long time since I’ve felt competent at this lift and to have some serious success today was a real confidence booster.

Segment 2:
Back Squat
60%/3
70%/3
75%/3
80%3
(85%/3) x 2

Because I was having such a good day with the snatch, I spent far more time there and pretty much abandoned this portion of the workout. This was done with Coach Doug’s permission and encouragement. As he said, when you’re having a particularly good day at something, stick with it and see how far you can take it. I really appreciated that latitude and told him and thanked him for it after the workout.

Ultimately, I got in three sets of three here at 135#, 155# and 185# respectively.

Segment 3:
AMRAP 22:
22 Wallballs (20/14)
22 Power Snatch (75/55)
22 Box Jumps (24/20)
22 Push Press (75/55)
22 Calorie Row

This was a funky METCON. I really kind of liked it. All wall balls were done unbroken. Coach Doug would not have let me get away with less.

All box jumps were done as two-footed jumps. I was doing jumps during the last minute of the METCON and Doug told me I could go to step ups, if needed, but like other workouts recently, I’d challenged myself to do jumps all the way through. So I stuck to that plan chasing that goal. Cost me some reps? Probably? Like the snatch, gained me some confidence? Definitely. So I’ll take that trade.

Rowing was fine. Once I had the wheel up to speed I believe I pulled a calorie per stroke each time I was on the machine.

Had to break up the lifting each round. I didn’t track that too carefully.

I found counting to 22 to be a surprising challenge. We so frequently do things to 21 reps, that it took a fair bit of concentration to complete each round of each exercise to the full required 22 reps. I kept wanting to bail out and transition a rep early.

When the time had expired, I had completed 2 full rounds and 59 additional reps. 7 reps shy of completing a third round of box jumps. It was a very satisfying score.

