As much as I love crossfit, there are days where I have to take a step back and acknowledge that it absolutely warps my brain.

Case in point, last Friday the workout of the day was “Athlete’s Choice;” Either do Double DT, or Heavy DT. These workouts were used in the Crossfit Games Finals a couple of years ago. They’re Hero WODs, which are inherently tougher than average workouts, scaled UP to be made more challenging for the elite of the Crossfit elite.

I chose Double DT – which means I elected to do 10 rounds of 12 Deadlifts, 9 Hang Power Cleans and 6 Power Jerks. The prescribed weight is 155#. I scaled to 135#. My left leg has, for lack of a more technical diagnosis, been rather tired and “wobbly” lately. Not the knee exactly, but the muscles around it. I felt particularly shaky that day. So after 5 rounds, I walked away.

Then I spent the better part of the day chastising myself for quitting the work out of the day.

Saturday – I only had to coach a single class. So I ran out to the gym early with the thought that I would test a 1RM for a lift. I chose the deadlift on the drive in. Over the course of an hour I worked up to a successful single of 345#. I missed 365# twice. My all time best is 385#. Once again I found myself all kinds of pissy pretty much because I didn’t set a new personal record.

That was two days running where I walked out of the gym with a sour taste in my mouth. I failed to complete the assigned work on Friday and failed to max out my lift on Saturday. Definitely a glass half-empty mentality.

It was a full day later, possibly two, before I realized how absurd that attitude was. I mean, how weird is it that successfully completing a scaled hero WOD (afterall, 5 rounds equals the normal DT) and successfully lifting 345 freaking pounds left me disappointed?! And I know I’m not the only person who goes through this from time to time. Many of us struggle with this balance.

It’s great to have goals and all. It’s also important to demand a lot from ourselves. At the same time, it’s important to respect what actually gets accomplished and to keep it in perspective.

Like I said, if you don’t pay attention, Crossfit can definitely warp your perspective on things.

