Most days I like to believe that I’m in tune with what my body needs and where I stand with things. Some days you just get thrown a total curve ball.

Segment 1:
Snatch
60%/3
65%/3
70%/3
75%/3
(80%/3) x 2

I worked the prescribed percentages up to the 80% range (120#) without incident. In fact, at one point Coach Doug came by and noted that I appeared to be dropping under the bar quite well. I was feeling a bit creaky this morning, so I did some additional mobility work between sets. I was focusing on the backs of my knees and hips.

I got two good reps at the 80% weight, then missed the third. “Ok. No big deal. Get off the floor. Set it up. Hit it again.” Joe, working near by, offered the suggestion that I really focus on punching the bar up and actively locking it out overhead rather than waiting on it to settle in. I tried that on the next lift but still ended up in a backward roll! We laughed about it afterward. Even though it was a miss, it was a ‘better’ lift. Just lost my balance at the bottom of the catch. Finally got an ok third lift at the prescribed weight and decided that one set, rather than two, was enough work for today.

Segment 2:
4 Rounds:
21 Wall Balls (20/14)
18 Hang Power Snatches (75/55)
15 Bar Facing Burpees
12 C2B Pullups

So this is where things got weird.

Wall balls were not an issue. I did all sets unbroken once I started a round.

Snatches were ok too. I had to break them up a bit (basically, just over half of what was required each set, then the remainder).

Burpees actually felt pretty good today. This was a pleasant surprise. Once I started a set, I was able to complete them unbroken. I wasn’t cycling through them fast, but I kept moving at a fair pace.

Pull ups are where it all came unglued. I never had any expectation of doing chest to bar. I was doing chin over bar from the start. The issue was I just felt so HEAVY hanging from the rig! I was just slogging through the reps. At most I got three at a time. Most of the time it was pairs and there were too many singles for comfort.

It got very time consuming and frustrating. I started chastising myself. “Well, what did you expect?! You ate crap all weekend. You’re probably weighing in over 230#. No more holiday cookies for you!” In fact at some point Joe and I made eye contact, rolled our eyes at each other acknowledging the misery and he said, “Tells me I need to lose weight.” I answered, “Yeah, no more holiday cookies for me.”

In the end, I completed 3 rounds, the 4th set of wall balls and 11 snatches. Here’s the catch. Per Doug’s direction, I took 2 reps off each exercise for the second round. For the third and fourth rounds, I did -4 the original rep scheme, (again at Doug’s direction to the majority of the class). What does that add up to? Don’t know. I’m not in a mathy mood.

When I got home, I decided to validate my frustration and hopped on the scale. What did I see? 220#! NOT the 230# I fully expected to see. For reference, I’ve been running anywhere between 222-228 for months now and 220# is my target weight. I want to be right around (preferably a bit under) that when I get to War of the WODs in a month. I have over time found that it’s a really good weight for me. So I’m pleased to be on target with that goal.

At the same time, I’m kind of confused. I’m left to wonder, ‘what the hell happened today?’ I definitely could have eaten better quality food this weekend. I could have put better fuel in the system. That’s likely part of today’s pull up challenge. But 3 of the 4 exercises required felt quite good. So clearly, that’s not the primary challenge. I was honestly surprised at how well I was cycling through those reps. I suspect the larger issue is mobility. I’ve been so hyper-focused on my legs of late that I have ignored my arms and shoulders. Seems I need to balance that out a bit better.

In the end, I think it just goes to show that to a certain degree, we can’t predict how things will go down and we simply have to adapt and overcome.

