I’m going to try and get back into periodic posting about workouts. For awhile there, it seemed like an additional part of the grind, and an unnecessary labor, but I’m starting to think it’s time well spent. So I’ll try to pick it up again. That being said, there are a number of places where I want to invest a bit more time and there are only so many hours in a day. So we will see. It was a pretty good workout this morning.

Segment 1
Work Up to a Max Rep Set of Muscle Ups

Muscle ups are out of my range right now, so I worked pull ups. Ultimately, I hit a set of 7 kipping pull ups with out coming off the bar. Wasn’t truly unbroken as I lost the kip about 4 reps in and had to sort of reset/refind my kip to finish out the set. But I did not drop off the bar. Not a bad effort. Not a glamorous shocking result. I was pleased with the fact that things felt reasonably light on the bar today. Good shoulder mobility meant I had decent front position on the kip. That’s frequently where things fall apart for me. Was nice to feel like I was in reasonable control today.

Segment 2

Back Squat 5 set of 5 reps at 83% of 1RM – This one was weird for me. I’ve lost all sense of what my 1RM might be for this lift. My last 1RM was pre-knee surgery and a couple of other miscellaneous leg injuries ago. That 1RM has literally had birthdays. So when ever we do this lift it becomes, “% of TODAY’s 1RM.” It’s very much a ‘by feel’ thing. So today I worked 5 sets by 5 reps at 205#. I might have been able to push that a bit higher, just to get the reps in. However, at that weight I felt confident in the form and technique. Anything much higher would have gotten very sloppy.

METCON
Nasty Girls
3 Rounds
50 Air Squats
7 Muscle Up
10 Hang Power Cleans (135#)
13 Min Cap

I subbed in pull ups and bar dip at a 1:1 ratio for the muscle ups. I got caught by surprise today in that the Hang Power Cleans at the Rx weight were far more challenging than I anticipated.

I had every expectation that I would power through the HPC unbroken in the first round and then perhaps do 7 and 3 in the last two rounds. I ended up going 5, 3, 2 the first time through and then 4, 3, 3 the second time around. Not certain why they were hard today. They just were. No big deal. Hit the time cap so I never completed the first round.

Pull ups still felt light on the bar. I am grateful for that. Bar dips also felt good. I appreciate that as well. Taking 10# off your midsection (more on that in a bit) definitely makes a differences on those bodyweight moves.

In the end, I completed 2 round + 56 reps within the time cap. Not too shabby.

Coach Doug was chuckling at me mid-WOD. Naturally with the Crossfit Games going on all weekend, that was a common topic of discussion at the box today. But after I completed the first round, I stepped over my bar took a few steps forward and began my air squats. Doug was nearby and commented, “doing it Games style, eh? You had to move up the floor before starting the next round?” I honestly wasn’t aware that I had done so. But when he pointed it out I chuckled and answered, “Yeah, looks that way.”

Random Fitness/Lifestyle Observations

-) Thoroughly enjoyed the CF Games this weekend. It was streaming pretty much non-stop all weekend long in our home. I particularly enjoyed the diversity of the events and the less traditional events (Obstacle Course, Cyclocross, Hay Bale/Sand Bag Burpees). I frequently challenge myself and the athletes I coach to remember and train for the fact that life doesn’t always move in straight lines as Crossfit tends to. I really enjoyed seeing the athletes adapt to that challenge.

-) Just finished a 28 Day nutrition/lifestyle challenge through our gym. The lifestyle aspect was the most impactful to me. I have begun some meditation and am working hard at turning off all the screens by 9pm. That’s been pretty cool. Planning a bit of an on-line hiatus soon. We’ll see how that goes.

From a nutrition standpoint, this challenge was a great way to break the cycle of lousy habits that I had picked up since April. As I mentioned earlier, I dropped 10 pounds. I have a few more I would like to shed; but I feel like this challenge has helped me reboot the healthier habits which will get me there. Along those lines….

-) New Challenges/Goals – I’m taking part in a few fitness events in the coming months. This should help me keep my eating habits in check. I’ll be taking part in a 6-person co-ed team event in October. More on that as we get closer. Additionally, the dates for the War of the WODs have been released in mid-January. Looks like I should be able to take part in that one. So I’m planning on registering soon. I’m contemplating taking part in our in-house powerlifting total event in mid-September. Logistically, that one’s a bit of a challenge as I have coaching responsibilities that day; but we can probably work around those.

So that’s where things are right now. I’ll try to get more disciplined about writing and we’ll see where that takes us.

